Guest Blogger – Kate Pearce

Today on the purple crushed velvet couch I have the lovely Kate Pearce. If you haven’t read her books you’re really missing out. But we can fix that. Kate is graciously giving away a copy of her new book Simply Scandalous.  Anyone who makes a comment is in the draw. Winner will be announced on 27th December.

Lillian: How did you get started as a writer?

Kate:  I was always a voracious reader, and tried to write when I lived in the UK, but I couldn’t get it right for Mills & Boon or anyone over there. When I moved to the USA and discovered their version of Romance I was in heaven! I didn’t have a visa to work so I settled in with my kids and decided to give myself 5 years to get a book published.

Lillian: I know you are an absolute encyclopedia of useful information for the newbie author, Kate is very wise. If you could offer only one piece of advice to someone desperate to be published what would it be?

Kate: One piece? Decide that you want to write, make a plan and go for it!

Lillian: I absolutely love your Regency Erotica series. I am three books in. How many books are there left for me to read? Can you tell us a bit about them and where you got the idea from?

Kate: Thank you. 🙂 There are nine in the series all together. I got the original idea when a list I was on was discussing women’s fear of being captured by Barbary pirates and carried off into white slavery during the early 1800’s. I wondered (because my mind is like that) what it would be like for an Englishman if he had been taken into slavery and then returned to the heart of the Regency ton. Valentin and Peter appeared in my head, and the rest came from there. At the time it was a fairly shocking notion to have two men who were old friends and lovers in a romance novel.

Lillian: What other series and genres do you write?

Kate: I’ve written erotic cowboys for Virgin Cheek, now available through Rouge Romance. Tudor Vampires for Signet Eclipse, Intergalactic Vikings for Ellora’s Cave and soon, contemporary paranormal romance for Carina Press. I also write short erotica stories for Cleis Press and self-publish Regency historicals.

In my other persona, as Catherine Lloyd, I’m about to embark on a new series of Regency-set historical mysteries set in Kurland St. Mary just after the Napoleonic Wars in a small English village.

Lillian: Who is your writing hero?

Kate: I have a few. 🙂 Rosemary Sutcliffe, Jane Austen, Georgette Heyer and Dorothy Dunnett.

Lillian: What is the most memorable thing someone has said about one of your books?

Kate: I think my favorite ever was “Georgette Heyer on crack.”

But it is always special when someone tells you that a book of yours helped them through a difficult time in their life.

Lillian: What is the best thing about being an author?

Kate: The ability to make stuff up and get paid for it? The commute? The uniform? What’s not to like?

Lillian: What is the worst thing about being an author?

Kate: The lack of a team to blame when things go wrong. The self-doubt, and having to deal with real human beings when I want to get back to the ones in my head. LOL

Lillian: What inspires, Kate Pearce?

Kate: The desire to communicate. That’s it.

…Although the money is nice too.;)

Lillian: If you weren’t an author what do you think you would be?

Kate: I’d have probably gone on and got my Phd and taught history. That was the plan if I hadn’t managed to get a book published in five years.

Lillian: Rumor has it you have a new book being released. So tell me something about it. What do I have to look forward to?

Kate: I do! It’s the last of the Simply series, (which is a sad and happy time for me). Simply Scandalous comes out on December 24th and is available everywhere in print and digital versions.


simplyscandalous1Blurb for Simply Scandalous.

After years of fighting on the continent, Richard Ross has finally returned to London to make peace with his father. The erotic delights of his stepmother’s Pleasure House provide a welcome distraction for his war-weary heart. But he is shocked to encounter someone there whose resemblance to his lost love leaves him both tempted and tormented…

As a former spy, Violet LeNy has mastered the art of deception. But there is no disguising the heated passion that still burns between her and Richard, the man she once betrayed but who now is her only hope of survival.

Bio:

Award winning author, Kate Pearce was born into a large family of girls in England, and spent much of her childhood living very happily in a dream world. Despite being told that she really needed to ‘get with the program’, she graduated from the University College of Wales with an honors degree in history.

A move to the USA finally allowed her to fulfill her dreams and sit down and write her first romance novel. Kate is published by Signet Eclipse, Kensington Aphrodisia, Ellora’s Cave, Carina Press, Cleis Press and Virgin Black Lace/Cheek.

Links :

Website: http://www.katepearce.com

Coming Next: http://www.katepearce.com/coming-next/

Twitter: kate4queen

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/kate.pearce.792

29 thoughts on “Guest Blogger – Kate Pearce

  1. Kate!!! First, great interview, Lillian and Kate! I love learning a little more about you oh-so-cool authors! How cool that you’re a history geek AND a writer of hot stuff 🙂 I’m sad we’ve come to the end of the Simply series, but ooh… it sounds like you’re about to start in a new, awesome direction! Do you feel satisfied with the series as a whole, or do you have any lingering inspirations that you might want to revisit someday?

    Like

  2. I think you are awesome Kate and what makes you special is that you connect with your fans. Your there to answer questions when asked. I will never forget that you sent me Educating Elizabeth and Redeeming Jack, they were the best along with you. Thank you for writing such great stories and I cannot wait to read your final Simply book. Love your work your the best if I have not said it enough!!!!!!

    Like

  3. I love Kate Pearce! I have all the books in this series…and yes waiting sadly for the last one. I love how there is a connection within every one of the books.

    Like

  4. I love, love, love your writing, Kate!! I’ve been looking forward to this new book, and I’m certain it will be fabulous:) Best of luck to you in the coming year!

    Thanks to you, both, for the giveaway! Happy Holidays to everyone:)

    Like

  5. I have read 4 books in Kate’s House of Pleasure series and LOVED them! I look forward to reading the rest of this series and discovering her other books.
    Thanks for the giveaway
    kitcat76(at)hotmail.com

    Like

    • I am glad Kate stopped by her books are awesome and I cannot wait for the final Simply, though it will be sad to see the end all the books were worth it. Thank you Kate and Lillian for having her/ Merry X-mas

      Like

  6. I LOVE your books! Originally discovered you at my local library, but unfortunatly it doesn’t have your most recent work 😦 but keep’em coming!

    Like

Leave a Reply

