gently, now… (with a giveaway)

Should the morning after Christmas find you nursing a headache from too much rum-laced eggnog, mulled wine, or other festive drink, I’ll speak quietly… 😉 V

The week between Christmas and New Year’s Day seems to be a perfect week for reflection on the past year. There’s always something about the day after Christmas for me, a little nervous energy, a little angst, a little letdown because the party is over but still excited because the new year is right around the corner. I wish there were a good word for the way I feel the day after Christmas, but so far in my endeavors with the English language (and a few others) I haven’t found it.

This time last year found me buried deep in the first draft of United, the second book in my Ushers series. Book one had just gone out on submission: I was an unpublished author sending out my very first queries, filled with excitement and nerves together. A year later, everything and nothing has changed. I’ve got six publication credits under my belt, including United, which released last week,  but I still am filled with nervous energy every time I send a book out on submission, and I am still buried deep in a book which I hope to see published next year.

I am counting my blessings this year, every one–the continued health and happiness of my family, the rewarding adventure that is writing fiction, and a great big giant of a dog asleep at my feet. It’s been a lovely year. To celebrate, I’m going to hold a drawing from the comments on this post–I’ll be giving away a copy of my science-fiction courtroom drama romance (with pirates! and boxing!), Fight or Flight, to one lucky commenter.

To be entered in the drawing, leave a comment telling me something that’s exciting to you about the year to come, or something that changed your life for the better this year! I’ll leave the drawing open until 7am EST on Friday, December 28th, and draw the winner sometime that morning. Good luck!

xoxo,

V

oh… I almost forgot. I promised my fellow LL&L gals a photo of Hank in my next post. So here you have it: the big beast who sleeps on my feet while I write…with my son in the photo for scale. 🙂

hank

Hank, the English Mastiff, and my son Roe

20 thoughts on “gently, now… (with a giveaway)

  1. OMG!!! That is one BIG dog!
    Merry Christmas!
    Well, something big is definitely coming my way next year. My husband and I will be migrating to the US by March 2, 2013. So, this is as big as it can get for us.

    Like

  2. something that changed my life for the better, my e-reader, because of that, i have met, found, and read so many authors that i would never have found otherwise. i am absolutely in love with a few different “indie” authors i have found, i seriously crave their books, and do countdowns to new books by them. so for that reason, i would be lost without my ereader.

    Like

  3. What an adorable dog! I love that his big ole tongue is half the size of your boy’s head. I am glad to hear you had a good year and your healthy.
    I am striving for better health this coming year and of course to read tons of great books. This last year I think I managed to get a handle on my Fibro and found a couple good doctors to assist me in the that struggle. I hope your new year is fantastic, Carin
    mawmom at gmail dot com

    Like

  4. Starting a new job! I am so excited! I have finally found a way to incorporate my education, my experience and my one of my passions…so if everything works out I will also incorporate my passion for reading and will have my own promotions company by mid year!!!! 2013 is gonna ROCK!!

    Like

  5. Vanessa– That is one big dog. 🙂 My great thing is you Love Lust and Laptops’ ladies asking me to be a part of this group. Not only was that great, it was a blessing. Love you all and looking forward to spending 2013 with ya.

    Like

  6. I plan to kick 2013s ass. 😉 And….my big thing is I HOPE to be divorced…finally! 😉 Courtroom drama….huh? Sounds fitting! 🙂 Love you my friend.

    Like

  7. OMG, V!! That is the greatest pic (and post)! I just want to kiss that dog’s nose! Your son is adorable too. 🙂

    2013 will see at least two more releases for me, possibly three. We will see how fast I can write. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

