A head full of heroes

I used to be a one book woman. Nothing could ever drag my attention away from my current work in progress. The hero and the potential plot, I write with vague ideas so the plot is as much a mystery to me as it is to you, consumed my every waking minute.

I have met writers who have a dozen things on the go at once and could never understand how they did it, I’m looking at you Sofia Grey. My heroes don’t share. They demand my full attention. Some of them even refuse to vacate my head at the end of the book and whine that they want another one.

Writing one book at a time was clean, crisp and organised. Write the book, edit the book, submit the book, start the next one. A winning formula. If you write a dozen at once you are in danger of shuffling deck chairs on the Titanic. The characters blend. The plot ideas get lost. And nothing gets finished as you poke and prod at each without making any tangible process . . . or so I thought.

So, why then when I look at my study whiteboard do I see the following list?

Jacques

Furry Jack

Fortitude

Innocence Comes to Call

Unbecoming

Tricky

Yes, ladies, and gentleman that may sneak in, six…not one, not two, not three, not four, not five, but six, bloody six works in progress at one time. What the fuck was I thinking?

To be fair two of them I am co-authoring. I write my bit and pass the baby back to my writing partner and hope to God they take their time writing their section so I can do something on my other projects.

I have had to prioritise what I am working on. One is on hold while I wait to see if anyone will pick up the first book in the series. Two others are on hold until I get finished with everything else so that leaves three. Two I’ve already covered as being co-authored and the third? The third is Innocence Comes to Call. For those who enjoyed my Reigning Men Series you might like this one. It’s a spin off. Stripper Chad is the hero, Male Review the venue, and comic relief is provided by Patrick Monaghan, younger brother to Michael. And yes Michael gets a small part.

Shut up, Michael. I never said your part was small… no one who has seen you strip would ever say that!

So, fingers crossed I get time to write some more so that I can get it finished and then I can reduce the number of heroes in my head. It’s getting very crowded in there.

10 thoughts on “A head full of heroes

  1. Crazy yes. I could end up with my French business man on stage at a male strip club at in Sydney and my Aussie stripper involved in a very strange relationship in New Orleans. And I must be brave I misspelt the name of my crit partner, sorry Sofia, please don’t beat me!

    Like

  2. I’ll gladly help you prioritize. Chad needs more attention and clearly if you don’t treat Michael right he is going to cause you trouble, so play nicely. You’re welcome. πŸ˜‰

    Like

  3. It could get really interesting if you mixed up characters! I don’t know about anyone else, but I can’t wait to read every last one of them! πŸ™‚

    Like

    • I can’t wait to finish writing them and cleanse my mind. Although I am sure more people are waiting to take centre stage in my head. πŸ™‚

      Like

  4. I do this too, Lillian. And it is one of the major reasons I don’t seem to ever get anything finished. I am trying desperately to focus on one book. Not working. If you figure out the trick to actually finishing one, please let me know! πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Emilia, you need a crit partner who is not afraid to wield the stick. Nothing motivates like a whining crit partner begging you for the next chapter. Co-authors do the same thing. You have to keep writing because it’s not just your project anymore. If I don’t have deadlines then crit partners keep me focused.

      Like

Leave a Reply

