Guest Blogger– Kathleen Lash

I would like to welcome author Kathleen Lash to the purple velvet couch today.  I am in the middle of reading her novel, Forbidden Thunder, and I have to say I love the hero, John Thunder.  Anything with Native American hotties in it, and I’m there. Where did you get the idea to write a book set in the trucking industry and the towing/wrecker industry?  I have to say it is a unique setting and I am loving it.

Forbidden ThunderThanks so much for having me, Monette! It’s great fun and an honor to be invited to your blog.

Well, Forbidden Thunder stemmed from years of being around the trucking industry. My husband has worn many hats over time. Back in the day, I loved trucks. I proved to him that if he could drive it, I could too. Also, when he started running local demolition derby competitions, I jumped in with both feet. Crashing cars, being as tough as the men…ah, the good old days. I especially loved my bright orange stock car with the number eighty-eight on the side that he built for me. Eighty-eight reads the same whether it was sitting on the tires or on the roof. Lol. Actually, I came close to rolling it, but never did.

These days, after we’ve both had some back and neck surgery, we’re taking it easier, loving grandbabies and our kids. Forbidden Thunder was my first published book. They say to write about what you know. I did.

 I notice you write in more than one romance sub-genre. Please share the sub-genres you write in and what draws you to them?

I’ve written for The Wild Rose Press. Both books were steamy contemporary romances. I write erotic sci-fi romance for Ellora’s Cave and more recently, I have a new release through Whiskey Creek Publishing Torrid which is an erotic contemporary. I love the world building and the ability to do almost anything in the sci-fi books. The erotic contemporary is set in a hospital in Cleveland. I’ve worked in healthcare for more than thirty years and again, I found weaving facts into the story easy. It was something I could relate to.

I love placing myself in different situations. I like drawing on different mindsets to see if I can get a particular hero or heroine out of a tight spot. That’s why I skip genres so often. I get bored writing the same types of stories.

What are you working on currently?

Actually, I’m laughing as I answer this. I am currently working on three different books. One is the third in the Taming series for Ellora’s Cave. It’s my first ménage sci-fi. I’m also working on a sweeter cowboy story. And when I get stumped on those, I have a BDSM contemporary story I plan on turning into a series.

Do you see why I laughed? I just can’t help myself. They all speak to me at different times so I need to give them attention.

Are your characters a reflection on you or anyone you know?

I draw from what I know, which is my poor dear husband. His barbed wire and brick wall exterior hides the guy who watches and adores his newest granddaughter. He’d punch another man in the face for hurting a puppy right before gently rocking Anna to sleep while humming to her. Yep, my hero’s definitely have some of him blended in.

 What is your favorite thing about writing?

Writing is an amazing outlet. My life has been anything but typical. I use the stories to come to terms with issues I probably don’t face in real life. It’s therapy. For instance, I stack the odds against a hero or heroine, box them into a corner, and then I try to figure out a logical solution and work through it. Once I’ve dealt with their problems, mine pale in comparison. My father always told me that when things look their darkest, talk to the person standing next to you. Chances are they have it worse. His reasoning has proven true, over and over. Thanks, Dad! Love you. Still miss you.

Do you have a favorite character from one of you own books? Who and Why?

 Shane Tiernan in Taming an Angel. He started off very gruff and moody. I rewrote the beginning and came to find he had this bizarre sense of humor. He was a kick ass, rough and tough, no-nonsense guy who could laugh at his shortcomings. He cracked me up. I too, have a strange sense of humor.

 What is the easiest and hardest thing about writing?

The easiest is getting the words down. I’m a very fast typist and I think quicker than I can type. The hardest is the final round of edits. By then, I’ve read and re-read a manuscript so many times I know the words by heart and can’t see the mistakes. It’s infuriating when my critique partner and BFF, Jennifer LaRose, finds issues after I’ve been over and over it.

Do you find love scenes difficult to write?

Not particularly. Naming body parts becomes a bit redundant, but the emotion behind the sex is always different. It’s like being a voyeur, describing how different people come together, imagining what they think and feel. What did the scene leave them with? How are they different now? How will this influence them in the coming pages? It’s magical.

 Is there one particular thing that you find challenging about writing?

 Finding time. I still work a full time day job and once I’m settled at my computer at night, games on Facebook constantly taunt me. Lately, it’s been less of a struggle to write. The winter months in Ohio are the hardest. It’s dark all the time and cold. Hibernation mode sets in.

Do you have any tips for new writers?

Yes. Write what calls to you. Join a writer’s group. Find a critique partner. Read books on how to write and use about half of what you read. Learn how to take constructive criticism. Stretch your imagination and take chances. The market is no longer driven by major publishers looking for very specific venues. It’s wide open. Go for it!

What is your writing day like once you start a book?

 I’ve written a full length novel in a month when my life was calm. It’s also taken me a year to grind out the words when my home and work life turn upside down. Writing is a muscle. The more you use it, the stronger it grows.

What is your guilty pleasure?

 Mexico. We used to go frequently before life exploded. We’ll be going this year in October and I think about it every day. Sun, endless pools, turquoise water, alcohol, food, relaxing. It is the ultimate escape. Plus, it’s all inclusive!

Who is your favorite author?

There are too many to name. Really! My favorites happen to be women I know and love. Jennifer Larose, Tiffany Bryan, Dena Garson, Virginia Cavanaugh, Laurann Dohner, Paige Tyler, Regina Carlysle, Fran Lee, Kaenar Langford, Jaid Black…the list is endless.

What are you reading now?

A soon to be released novel from Jennifer LaRose through Ellora’s Cave. It takes place in Ireland in a castle! A ghost is the hero. Wow!

Quick Questions:

Sex or chocolate?

 Sex

Alpha-males or beta-males?

ALPHA

Your heroes — boxers, briefs, or commando?

Commando, please.

If you were stranded on a tropical island, what three things would you hope to have with you?

Food, a laptop and my husband.

Kinky sex or vanilla sex?

Both, please. A woman needs options.

 Where can your readers reach you?

www.kathleenlash.com

kathleenlash1@gmail.com

Facebook – Kathleen Lash – Friend me!

Do you have an excerpt you’d like to share?

 Yes, from my newest release.

PrescribingPleasure_lgBlurb:

Dr. Amy Townsend’s superb clinical skills and sensible approach to practicing medicine, allow her to effectively handle whatever the residents of Cleveland throw her way in the eastside hospital emergency department. However, she’s ill prepared to deal with her attraction to the construction manager of the hospital’s expansion project. She’s never met a more handsome, sexually appealing, and emotionally unavailable man in her life. Amy loves a challenge and Mr. Issac Weston provides one she simply can’t ignore.

Most people in Zack’s life remain categorized and compartmentalized. He can’t figure out where Amy belongs, other than in his bed. No matter how hard he tries to keep a safe distance, the good doctor slinks past years of barriers and strips them away. He’s never been more turned on by a woman and if he isn’t careful, he could find himself swallowing more than Dr. Amy’s prescription for pleasure.

 Excerpt:

God, I can’t get enough of her scent.

It drove him crazy. Since she’d initiated the contact, he felt inclined to reciprocate. He placed his palm on the back of her head and stroked all those silky smooth strands before pulling her closer. She kept gazing at him with pouting lips that needed kissing.

“What is it about you, Stitch?” he uttered before he bent down to taste the lips of the woman in his constant scorching sexual dreams.

Her mouth melted beneath his. He needed to experience more and the rolled blueprints hit the pavement when he wrapped her in his arms. Her purse landed on the ground two seconds later as she stepped into the embrace and hugged him back. She might not trust him enough to share a problem, but there wasn’t a doubt in his mind she liked being close.

Twenty seconds turned him from merely wanting a kiss to burning from receiving one. The open-mouth, tongue-on-tongue he’d thought about before, happened. He groaned, savoring the intimate, deep mating. The woman knew how to use her mouth, and no matter how aggressive he became, she matched him and turned the heat up a notch.

At thirty-eight, he calculated the odds of losing it while rubbing against her. Kisses and hugs hadn’t made him this hot or out of control in twenty years. While he enjoyed his body running on overdrive, he didn’t appreciate the power she currently held. Slowing his runaway heart rate and gaining a few inches of distance proved nearly impossible. After a few minutes, he managed.

“Shit!” he whispered before pulling her close again. Resting his chin on the top of her head, he held her gently while they both shook and caught their breath.

“Oh,” she said, still panting, “my!”

He couldn’t help chuckling. “Oh my?”

“Yes, um—holy shit?”

He laughed harder while picking up and handing her the purse. “That’s better.”

“Zack?”

“Hmm?” He bent again to retrieve the rolled papers. He straightened to gaze at her in the fading light.

She stared at him for a moment before shaking her head. “Nothing.”

6 thoughts on “Guest Blogger– Kathleen Lash

  1. Thanks for the great comments, ladies! While I won’t be driving in any more demo derbies (the neurosurgeon who put my neck back together strongly advised against it) – lol, I plan on living vicariously through my son who’s taken over the family passtime. As for writing, I’m sure I’ll have more books out soon. It’s a compulsion with me. Again, I really had fun being a guest here! Thanks so much for including me on your blog!

    Like

  2. Great interview, Kathleen! Demonlition derby?! Girl, you’re crazy! LOL!

    I agree with what you said about writing sex. The act is the same, but the characters and their emotions make every scene different!

    I’m so flattered to be one of your favorite authors! Thank you so much!

    *hugs*
    Paige

    Like

Leave a Reply

