Love, Lust, Laptops & Jianne Carlo

logo-janeecarlo11-150x150

I’m thrilled and excited to be part of the Love, Lust, and Laptops blog group. My thanks to Lynn Lorenz for suggesting me as a member. Lynn and I go back a long way. We started our careers together at Loose-Id, and our first books were published just two months apart.

Since I’m new to the group, I figured it might behoove me to introduce myself via a top twenty list.

Top 20 Facts About Me:

  1. I flew a fighter jet in a dogfight. Okay, I lost 5-4, but I did two rollovers (4G’s)!!!!
  2. Though we’ve been married for 35 years, the dh and I still like each other.  Go figure.
  3. We survived 3 sons— we did—no guarantees of our sanity, but they’re all now (fingers & toes crossed) financially independent. Momma boast here – the middle one just landed a dream job at Google.
  4. I’m allergic to chocolate. *rolls eyes* It doesn’t bother me, but it seems to bother everyone else.
  5. South Florida is a cool place (pun intended) to live from September to April. We’re looking for a summer home. Any takers? Honestly, we’ll mooch anywhere to get out of the sweltering heat. Lynn and Parker, though I know you’re dying to volunteer—sorry, not interested. We’re thinking more along the lines of the UK or Europe. Watch out Cherie…
  6. I wrote my first book because the dh dared me to. Until that point, I’d never, ever dreamed of writing. Numbers are my thing.
  7. The only carbonated beverage I drink is champagne.
  8. My mom and I did a 28-day road trip across Monaco, France, Spain, and London, and we never quarreled once. Myself, I think that should make some kind of Guinness record.
  9.  One of my secret obsessions is Vikings (that could be because the dh has Norse roots and looks like Thor—okay, maybe a tad on the worn and torn side, but still a God, right?).
  10. I flew in a helicopter, not once, not twice, but three times.
  11. The thing I love the most about writing is being able to indulge my rabid curiosity. Ha! What that really means is after a half-day Internet time-suck, I can say, “I was doing research, honest.”
  12. When I’m stressed out, I cook. I once did a proper high tea for 50 people. I was really, really stressed.
  13. My fourth book, A Paratrooper in a Pear Tree, won Passionate Ink’s Best Contemporary of 2009, and I never found out until they announced the winner for 2010!
  14. Road trips are my number one choice for vacations. We celebrated being empty nesters with a 28-day (hmm, seeing a pattern here) trip to the Grand Canyon. On said trip got to meet Georgia Woods and Lynn Lorenz in person.
  15. My favorite dessert is  pan seared Foie Gras in a Calvados-brandy cream sauce with an icy Muscat.
  16. I once spent the night with the Prime Minister of Trinidad and Tobago and his entire cabinet.
  17. The dh and I met in Canada at college, did our Master’s in Miami, moved to Vancouver (Canada), and then went on to live in San Francisco and Trinidad.
  18. If I’d discovered it earlier, parachuting would be my number one hobby.
  19. My day job’s in financial systems and my Master’s is in Finance, Statistics, and IT.
  20. I can scale, clean, gut, and de-bone a normal-size fish in ten minutes.

I hope I haven’t bored the daylights out of everyone. Next blog will be way more interesting, promise.

Cheers,

Jianne

15 thoughts on “Love, Lust, Laptops & Jianne Carlo

  1. Jianne, welcome, welcome!! So glad to have you. I had no clue as to your Canadian connections with school. Go figure! I won’t razz you on the chocolate thing. I will razz you about hubby Thor. I have a lovely blond hubby too, and know how hot your Vikings are. You’ll fit in here just fine…oh, and expect me in Florida any day now. 😉

    Like

  2. You are most welcome to come, Rosanna. We may be empty nesters, but we still haven’t made a mood to downsize. So there are free bedrooms galore, though we do seem to be appropriating empty spaces at an alarming rate.

    Like

  3. Wow! You are now my new ‘Role Model’… I want to grow up and be just like Jianne Carlo! Look forward to getting to know you and your books! 😀

    Like

  4. Aw, come on Jianne! You sure you don’t wanna stay with me this summer? LOL! Hell, I don’t wanna stay with me during the summer so maybe I will join you in the UK. It’s gotta be cooler anywhere but here. 🙂

    I’m so excited to have you join us. Remind me to ask you about that night with the Prime Minister of Trinidad and Tobago and his entire cabinet. Sounds like a plot bunny to me! 🙂

    Like

  5. Haha from that last comment I know you are a true Canadian girl! Welcome to the blog group & I hope you get guided to the GR group as well. Btw I Love that title “A Paratrooper in a Pear Tree”! Dare I ask if it has a Christmas theme? 😛

    Like

    • Yes, Heather, it does. LI had a call out for stories related to Christmas songs, and I couldn’t get that line out of my head. BTW, a paratrooper really does land in a pear tree. Goody, a fellow Cannuck on the team. Ah, there’s a GoodReads group, too. Duh-uh! Took me a while.

      Like

  6. Yay, Jianne is here.

    I’m so down with Vikings. And I also want to hear about just how you spent the night with the Prime Minister and his cabinet. Or is that an off-the-record kind of thing?

    And yay, numbers kind of gal – I’m a numbers kind of gal also (Math and English major here). Gotta love the people who use both sides of their brains. You’ll fit right in here at LL&L – these ladies are multi-talented and multi-faceted.

    Like

    • Hi Moni – been devouring your books. They’re very addictive. I must admit to meeting very few women who like numbers – so looking forward to actually meeting you in person.
      Most of that night is off the record, though it was documented in all the newspapers at the time.

      Like

Leave a Reply

