Addressing the Big Questions…

I laugh every time someone asks me about what I do. The questions are sometimes so comical, I can’t help it. My favorite? Does your husband help you practice all this stuff? Usually that question comes from someone who hasn’t read a single book of mine. If they had, they’d realize the insanity of their inquiry. The truth is my husband is not a shapeshifting wolf. He is not a Dom. And there is only one of him. So, um…nope! Some days I wish, but then he comes home from work at the end of the day and by golly he is still human and alone. lol

Now, where does the magic happen? You might be extremely surprised to know about the environment in which I work. In fact, I’m sure you will! I don’t have pinups of naked men. I don’t have pinups of naked women. I don’t even have storyboards hanging all over the office with notes about my books. I tried that once; it was a failure. I can’t follow a plan–ever. The characters drive my books all on their own. The most I know when writing is what might happen in the next chapter, and even that is subject to change at the whim of the characters. So, what does my office look like? Well, here’s the thing: I’m a Raggedy Ann fanatic! I have hundreds of them. Incongruent you say? Probably. But I love being surrounded by my collection. I’ve loved that childhood doll since I was very tiny and she sits all over my office with her friend Andy. My family would groan if I let her escape into the rest of the house, so she fills my office. 🙂

Am I tidy? Not at all. I do clean off my desk from time to time, but it takes only minutes for it to accumulate all the crap I just put away. I like a lot of things at my fingertips: dog treats to entertain the beast, snacks, calendar, notes, notes, notes, lip balm, candles, phone numbers, iPhone, cookies, tissues, and the list goes on… I’m very careful about my drinks. I keep a glass of water generally with a lid. A few years ago the light fixture in the ceiling fell onto my desk. It missed my face (I was sitting there at the time) by inches, but it knocked over my glass of water and sent it flying across the desk into the laptop. Lost everything. Who knows what that current WIP was even about. It’s long gone. So, I now live in fear of falling ceilings and behave in accordance with that likelihood. Doesn’t everyone? lol

So, those are the answers to some common questions I get. I don’t want you to have to rely on the verbal image I painted, of course. I mean, how rude! So, here’s a few pictures from the magical room where wolves and doms do theirphoto-2 photo-3 photo-4 thing…at least “on paper”.

3 thoughts on “Addressing the Big Questions…

  1. Oh, Becca! I had a Raggedy Ann doll too, just one, mind you. And I loved her to pieces…literally. I love your workspace…kinda like mine. Lots of snacks. I like that. I write pretty much the same way, too. Not a lot of outlinging, as it doesn’t work for me. I tend to work with the next couple of chapters in my head and go from there. Fun post!

    Like

  2. I still have a box set of Raggedy Ann and Andy books that my dad bought me when I was 12. My workspace is pretty boring, but…I DO have the Ellora’s Cave Cavemen calendar hanging next to my desk. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

