Guest: Sam Cheever

Happy Saturday!  It’s Emilia here to introduce my dear friend, author Sam Cheever.  She is popping in today to ask a very important question…take it away, Sam!

Is There Such a Thing as Too Much Sexual Tension in a Romance?

I’ll never forget a workshop on sexual tension that I attended at the first Ellora’s Cave RomantiCon. The workshop was run by author and founder Jaid Black, and she surprised by telling us NOT to give our readers sex until the end.

I sat there blinking for a minute, totally confused. Having dealt with my wonderful editor, who basically told me I had to add some sexual event every ten pages or so in my books, this came as a real surprise.

But Jaid went on to explain more specifically what she meant. Her premise was that the author can give the reader all the sexual tension she wants, but shouldn’t offer the final act until well into the story. I’m definitely not averse to this. #:0)

I don’t know about you but, in the case of a romance novel, I think the build-up is more

Sam Cheever

Sam Cheever

than half the fun. Creating heat between two characters is a vital part of building the relationship. Sizzling sexual tension keeps the reader turning pages to the ultimate conflagration…the point where they finally find their life-changing bliss.

Great stuff. But is it possible to build too much tension between characters? Does a prolonged sexual event frustrate readers…or titillate?

I’d be really interested in your feedback. For my part, I have been frustrated in the past by a romance story. When the h/h get a-l-m-o-o-o-o-s-t there a dozen times throughout the course of a book, I find myself skimming scenes to get to that final culmination. It’s really hard to think of the pain that constant denial would cause and I can’t help wanting that to end. In a way, that’s a good sign for the author, because I obviously care enough about the characters to want them to find their moment, but still, having me skipping over scenes is not an optimum situation. How about you? Do you skip parts of a romance novel to get to the “good” parts? Or do you enjoy every hot minute of the h/h’s sexual build-up in the journey to their HEA?

Inquiring minds want to know!

 

And speaking of sexual tension… #:0) I’d like to share my fun and sexy post-apocalyptic romance, Hexually Obsessed:

hexuallyobsessed_msr

If lust were flames, there’d be scorch marks across the ages!

Ardith is a time traveling witch, a member of the Epoch Mages. Draigh is a Sorceri Bounty Hunter. They H-A-T-E each other. When they’re thrown together by the elders to chase an evil rogue witch through time and save the world from flesh eating zombies, they quickly discover that, while their minds may tell them they don’t like being together, their bodies don’t quite agree. In fact, if lust were flames, there’d be scorch marks across the ages!

“I don’t hand out a ton of 5 Star ratings for books. Like my Ratings Guide says, they have to be practically life changing. But if I read a book and I just cannot seem to forget it, it has to be a 5.”
~ 5 Stars from SnifferWalk

“A hard to put down novel that will captivate you from the beginning.”
~ 5 Stars from My Cozie Corner Book Reviews

**Adult Excerpt**

Filled with rage, Ardith strode across the massive room toward the sound of splashing water in the bath. Anger carried her through the door, to stand before the shower.

But rage didn’t have a chance when faced with the incredible reality that was a naked Draigh.

Steam surrounded him, filling the room with moist heat. The hunter stood wide legged under the dense spray of water, his hands resting against the tiled wall beneath the shower head.

His head was bowed and he seemed to be enjoying the heated pulse of the water driving over him—lovingly molding the chiseled planes of his frame.

Ardith realized she was holding her breath. The sweet spot between her legs pulsed with pleasure as her gaze slipped appreciatively over his back and the cut of his narrow waist, caressing the firmly rounded protuberance of his fine ass. Her gaze skimmed down the bulging cuts of his muscular thighs and calves and then upward, to appreciate the well-developed geography of his arms and shoulders.

He was massive and hard…every part of him.

Ardith wondered what he was thinking about in that shower.

“Are you just going to stare at me, or are you coming in?”

His head came up and his gaze slid in her direction. Hunger lit his icy-blue gaze, such hunger that Ardith took an alarmed step backward.

“I-I’ll wait.”

He turned away, his head lowering again, and Ardith started to take a breath, turn away. A massive hand snaked out, faster than her eye could follow, and grabbed her wrist, yanking her under the water and against his broad chest.

Ardith gasped at the feel of the massive, hard cock trapped between them. She closed her eyes, overcome with lust as he pressed it against her.

“You are a trying woman,” he told her, his lips barely an inch from her ear. “But I find it difficult to ignore you.”

Ardith’s pussy contracted as he slipped a hand down her back and cupped her buttocks, pressing her even more tightly against his thick shaft. She swallowed a moan as his lips touched her ear, his tongue sliding out to trace its edge.

She wanted to be flip. Needed to distance herself from his charms. But she wasn’t sure she had breath enough in her lungs to pull it off. She tried anyway. “That’s funny, I don’t have any problem ignoring you.” The words came out sounding strangled, without power.

Predictably, he laughed them off.

Draigh slipped a hand into the waistband of her skirt and flicked his wrist, ripping it down the middle. “You have a funny way of showing your disinterest.” His hand slipped down her belly, dragging the soggy silk of her panties away from her pussy. He slid a thick digit along her already-slick folds.

Ardith was swamped by a wave of lust so overwhelming her knees started to buckle. She’d have hit the floor of the shower if he hadn’t been pressing her into the wall with his body.

He inserted a knee between her thighs and spread them for his pleasure. She was like a rag doll, unable to form a coherent thought or travel down a path other than the one he forged. His busy fingers slipped along the folds of her pussy and circled over her clit. Her pleasure built. With a mix of horror and wonder, Ardith realized she was going to come.

She shoved weakly at his hand. “No. Stop.”

He complied. But when he did, she almost cried out from the loss of his touch. She needn’t have worried. He merely reached up and tore her bustier open, baring her breasts to his hungry gaze.

Ardith tried to tug the edges together again, but her efforts were halfhearted at best. Her body thrummed with a need she hadn’t experienced for months. Maybe ever.

“Oh gods,” he groaned. “Such perfect breasts. Plump and pale, with rosebud nipples.” He licked his lips as if he would taste her, then seemed to realize she was still covered in goo.

Draigh grabbed a bar of soap, dwarfing the oversized green bar in his massive hand. Ardith shook her head, her hands finding the well-sculpted planes of his wide chest and pressing unenthusiastically . “I can take my own shower. I don’t need…”

His hand slipped over her breast, skimming the silky soap across a rigid nipple. She slammed her mouth closed to restrain the groan that wanted to emerge as a result of his touch. The hunter’s soapy hand slipped over her other breast and down, to skim across her belly. He turned her into the water to rinse her breasts and then dipped his head, engulfing one of her nipples in velvet heat. Ardith gasped, arching her back to push her breast more deeply into his talented mouth.

She found her gaze sliding down his body, to the enormous, rigid shaft bobbing before him. She slammed her eyes closed on a moan.

Draigh’s mouth left her breast and she opened her eyes again, finding her gaze mere inches from his pecs. The hot water sluiced over his perfect pecs and streamed from the rigid buds of his nipples. Ardith’s gaze locked onto those perky, brown buds, her tongue sliding across her lips in anticipation of tasting them.

Draigh’s big, warm hand slipped downward to lather the swollen folds of her sex and Ardith lost her battle to withhold a heartfelt groan. Her head fell back to rest against the tile wall behind her and her eyes closed on a wave of pure delight.

He turned her and skimmed the silky bar over her buttocks, sliding it between her cheeks. Ardith gave up trying to fight it and widened her stance, moaning. To her chagrin, she found herself wishing he’d return to her hungry mons to work his soapy magic.

When Draigh’s lips dropped to her shoulder and he nipped her, Ardith thought she’d moved too far beyond reason to pull herself back. Her body was strung tight, her pussy throbbed with helpless need, and her breasts felt swollen against the cool tile. But then she felt the thick head of his cock against her pussy lips and panicked, the reality of the situation slamming into her.

The moment served to bring Ardith out of her lust filled haze. She surged away from the shower wall and turned, pushing hard against his chest. “Stop. No. I want you to go.”

When he didn’t immediately back away, she glared at him. “Leave now, hunter, or I won’t be responsible for where my next volt of witch fire ends up.” She dropped her gaze meaningfully and Draigh blanched, one large hand covering his enormous hard-on before he could stop himself.

But then he grinned. “You forget the place is warded against your magic. Besides, you’re only prolonging the inevitable, witch.”

Ardith grabbed the soap and turned away. “You’re delusional, hunter. I’d rather sleep with a zombie.”

She ran the soap over her body, holding her breath in the hopes he would leave. Ardith knew if he touched her again she probably wouldn’t be able to stop herself from reacting.

A moment passed. And another. She still felt his gaze upon her body. Finally she turned, glaring, and found herself alone in the bath.

 


 

Author Bio

Award winning author of more than 40 works of fiction, Sam Cheever mixes in a little fun, a little adventure, and a little real-life spice to create her sexy fantasy and romantic suspense stories. In her real life, Sam lives on a hobby farm in Indiana with 13 dogs, 2 horses, and one husband. She writes books she likes to read and reads books she wishes she’d written. Her books are fast paced and fun loving. Not one of them will solve a single world problem, but you definitely won’t be bored while reading them!

To find out more about Sam and her work, please pay her a visit at any one of the following online hot spots:

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads | Blog | About.Me

 

10 thoughts on “Guest: Sam Cheever

  1. Like you, I find myself skimming to get to the “good” parts. Repetitive foreplay scenes over and over again are beyond annoying. At least do something different each time. But I’ve read books where the same exact things happen between the h/h. (rolling eyes) That said, I’ve actually got to learn to write a build-up. My characters must be sexual deviants, cause they jump into bed at the first possible moment!

    Thanks for being here!

    Like

    • LOL, I hear ya, Robin. It’s actually a challenge for me as an author to make my characters jump into bed as soon as many pubs want them to. I like the slow build up of lust that comes with all that tension. But when it makes sense they need to get down to bidneth! Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  2. Hi Sam, and thanks for joining us today! I admit, in my books, I like to provide about three good hot scenes, but lots of tension too. I do sometimes skim, but if the book has been written well, I am happy to join in on those tortuous moments with the H/H. I loved your excerpt!

    Like

    • Thanks so much Rosanna! I find 2 to 3 sex scenes is optimum for me too. One really big one, once the tension is finally broken, and then a couple more as they get to know each other better. I usually like to end on one too, because that’s the ultimate in happy endings. LOL

      Like

  3. Thanks for stopping in today, Sam! I love the sexual tension, the lustful looks, the jolts sent through each other by an accidental touch…but, yeah, sometimes it does go on too long and I just want the characters to get down to business. I don’t need sex all the time (uh, despite what my books might tell you), but I don’t want it to be the very last thing either.

    Like

    • That’s exactly how I am, both as a writer and a reader. Sex is definitely an important aspect of the story, but there has to be more to it than that or I get bored.

      Like

  4. Sexual tension, if done well, keeps me coming back to that author. One thing though that a lot of romance novelists are guilty of is gratuitous sex. Sex while running from a predator; sex while hiding out from the law; sex because they knew each other ten years ago… If it doesn’t suit the tenor of the book, DROP IT. Yes, tension is much better when the culmination is worth fighting for. You know, sex without rhyme or reason is boring – fancy that!

    Like

    • I couldn’t agree more, Vonnie. Sometimes it isn’t the fault of the author so much as the publishing house. Some of the houses have a requirement for a certain amount of sex in every story. I actually had an editor tell me once that I had too much plot in my book. LOL That’s one of the reasons I’ve gotten more into Indie pubbing, so I can tell the story the way it should be told.

      Great comment, thanks Vonnie!

      Like

  5. Sam, excellent post. I am on board with Jaid — sexual tension is hot and I like to read it — a lot. I also like to write it. Many times the sex scenes in my books are all in the last half– with the first half being build up. I write romantic thrillers/suspense and it is hard to have intimate love scenes on the run. Now hard, up-against-the-wall sex is easier since it is a quick release of sexual build up. But still the scene has to fit into the story.

    Do I skip to get to the good parts? No, in fact sometimes I skim the sex scenes to get to the rest of the action.

    Thanks for being here.

    Like

  6. I agree with you and Jaid. I won’t finish a book if the sex is culminated too soon. Unfortunately, TV shows ruin themselves the same way. I loved Bones and Castle, but no longer have any interest because they eliminated the sexual tension.

    Like

Leave a Reply

