When’s a Sheraton not a Sheraton? When it’s the Kansas Sheraton.

Last week, I attended the Romantic Times 2013 Convention. I got to meet all the Love, Lust, and Laptops ladies with the exception of Rosanna, Emilia, and Robin (boo-hoo). So much fun. These ladies are a riot in real life. And Omigod – Cherie came all the way from London!

First and foremost – while I had a blast at the convention, for the life of me and many other people, I cannot understand why RT chose a hotel so blatantly hostile to anyone with mobility issues. There were no ramps for wheelchairs and the only way to get to the ballroom, where many of the events were held, was in a one-wheelchair, claustrophobic lift: Here’s what it looks like (coming as soon as Lynn sends me the pic):

Doesn’t anybody from RT check the hotel’s facilities? Not only that, but there were only 2 restaurants/bars in the hotel. One was open from 7 to 2 and the bar was open from 2 to 1 am. The bar served only snacks. The hotel’s food was awful and expensive. The service was dismal and even a snail could outpace the waiters. For the first time ever, I was charged a receiving fee for theΒ  hotel signing for my packages- WTF? Where did that come from?

And to top it off, it snowed. You heard me – it fricking snowed in May. At any rate, here are some pics from the conference.

IMG_0981

Lynn Lorenz (left) & Belinda McBride at the Disco Party!

IMG_0989

Becca readying that arm for a kazillion signatures! πŸ™‚

IMG_0998

Monette getting ready to charm a kazillion fans! πŸ™‚

IMG_1018

Becca & Cherie posing very reluctantly for me – poor babies 😦

IMG_1001

Vanessa practicing that smile for a kazillion fans! πŸ™‚

IMG_1025

The ladies went all out for the Zombie party!

IMG_0976

The crowded dance floor at the Disco party

IMG_1012

It fricking snowed!

IMG_1014

In case you didn’t believe me πŸ™‚

Hope you enjoyed!

Cheers,

Jianne

11 thoughts on “When’s a Sheraton not a Sheraton? When it’s the Kansas Sheraton.

  1. Jianne, Love the pictures:) …looks like fun I would love to attend at some point. I could have given you a heads up about that Sheraton. I used to use a walker and had the same issues. I always use the Druxy Inns now..much more friendly for those who are not fully able. πŸ˜‰ Lets hope that they are more sensitive to this for future conventions.

    Like

  2. Hi, Jianne. Love the pics. Please send me some of them so I can post them on my FB. πŸ™‚ So lovely meeting you , even if it was for such a short time. Next year we’ll have to all go to dinner together. Did you get a chance to get some KC BBQ?

    Like

Leave a Reply

