Don’t Blink!

MargaritaRealOn Saturday, my oldest son turned twenty-nine. Twenty-fricking-nine. When did I get so old? And why didn’t anyone tell me?

I started adding up things and it’s frightening. I’ve now been married longer than I was ever single. To the same man. Okay, he’s a demon in bed and a fantastic friend, but you know, when did I get so boring? I never ran around when I was young. I’m one of those one-man women.

So, on Saturday I told the dh we need to shake things up. He suggested I buy a new blender, make an uber-strong margarita, and join him in the pool. The kids are gone, so I’m going to take him up on his suggestion. Anyone have a great margarita recipe?

But, he’s gonna pay for his smart alec-ness. He’s gonna have to lick the salt from my belly button 🙂

Happy Monday!

Cheers,

Jianne

14 thoughts on “Don’t Blink!

  1. Skip the mixers and go straight to tequila shots! Happy empty nest.

    Oh and I am a one-man woman also — our son is 27. I’ve been with the same man for over 40 years. Oy! Obviously he was a keeper. 😉

    Love hearing about long-term relationships — just goes to show it can be done.

    Like

  2. If you go to the GR Kickers group (Rosanna belongs) and the Kickin’ Recipes thread is a fantastic margarita recipe. One of our Kickers posted it and many have enjoyed it since. 🙂

    Like

  3. My oldest is 16 and I am not looking forward to him (or me) getting any older. On the margaritas, I just get the Jose Gold Pre Mixed from the liquor store, it’s pretty damn good and they even have strawberry. 🙂 Happy Bday to your son!
    Rhonda D

    Like

    • He had a great birthday. I made him Lobster Bisque (from scratch, including the seafood stock), served him crab cakes and steak and then he went to a birthday batch thrown by his BFF! Not a bad way to turn 29!

      Like

  4. What a great post. I can’t believe I’ve been married for nearly 10 years…before my husband, my longest relationship was 6 months. My son will be 7 soon…I don’t want to think about him (or myself) getting older. I was practically in tears when he lost his first tooth a few months ago.

    Like

  5. It all went by so fast, Pam. Treasure each moment. I vowed to never miss a birthday, a play, or a soccer game. Except for a few of the latter, I kept my promises and I will never regret that.

    Like

Leave a Reply

