Hair

Let’s just put it out there: I have a thing for hair.

I find hair to be one of the most memorable aspects of a character’s physical description. Perhaps that’s why there are so many red-haired heroines in romance, or why so many romance heroines have long hair. 

One of the most well known Norse myths tells of the goddess Sif, wife of Thor, and how Loki cut her hair in her sleep, to shame her and trick Thor. Odin ordered him to restore her hair, and Loki had a hairpiece forged of solid gold, which took root in Sif’s head and restored her beauty. (honestly, if Sif were around today, I’d suggest Loki introduce her to my WAHL clippers and Manic Panic, and we’d make a pretty punk out of her, but I digress)

When it comes to writing (and reading!) romance, I find ways to bring memorable descriptions of hair into the story.

There’s the facial/body hair thing–Out of my Ushers trilogy, two of the three heroes are bearded. All my Bear shifters wear beards, and in my contemporaries, the guys almost always have facial hair. Or chest hair. Or both (SWOON). Even my blind heroine Romy, from Shifter’s Dance, manages to “see” Stephen’s hair:

She gave him her hand. She heard and felt his chuckle as he laid it against his cheek.

“This is how they do it in movies.”

She explored his face with her hands. A thick beard, soft under her fingers, framing the full lips that moments ago had been stoking her desire to a fever pitch. An elegant, aquiline nose. Attached earlobes. Long eyelashes. Hair that slipped like silk through her fingers. Well, that was a surprise.

“What color is your hair?”

“Brown.”

“Brown like chocolate? Brown like honey? Brown like chestnuts?”

“It’s just brown, Romy.”

“Stephen.” She didn’t even attempt to keep the frustration out of her voice. “I can’t see, but I remember seeing. There is no ‘just brown.’ Tell me.” She tried to picture him in her mind, and the possibilities were endless.

“Brown like a cup of tea, and my beard has a little red in it.”

She could see it then.

My military heroes–Zeke from Fight or Flight, and Adam, the hero of “Always You,” a recently-finished project, have “significant” hair. Zeke wears his in cornrows, flouting convention while managing to stick to the letter of the law, and the Navy’s hair length regulations send Adam to visit his lover, Harris, at the beginning of Always You.

As for me–hair is significant to me too. I wear mine shaved on all but the top of my head, and I dye it varying shades of purple, from the deep purple in my avatar to the pale lavender I sported at the RT convention. You see, there’s no dress code in my home office, and this is a way to remind myself I am lucky to do what I love–write love stories–and not everyone has the freedom to express themselves fully, either on their heads or on paper.

Let’s hear it for hair–Do you have a “hair thing?” short or long? Shaved or bearded? Share your own hair stories in the comments!

 

4 thoughts on “Hair

  1. Several years ago, I started dyeing my hair. It got expensive and time-consuming. Then my daughter started adding color to her hair. $$$$!!
    Now, I’ve decided to own my hair – au naturale – in all its salt ‘n pepper glory! Silver is the new black!

    If it makes you feel good, go for it!

    BTW – my DH is also white/silver – despite being 6 yrs younger than me.

    Like

  2. Oh girl, you KNOW I love some facial hair! Yum-E! Chest hair and happy trail are good too, but I draw the line at back and shoulder hair.

    As for girl hair, I often create an image in my head of the heroine and if the author doesn’t spell out details early enough before I have a strong mental image I get annoyed if their later description conflicts with what I imagined. For example, a somewhat innocent character makes me see her as blonde (yes, a stereotype, so what?) and when she is later described to have jet black hair, it throw me off for a bit.

    For me, personally, I much prefer long hair and am jealous/envious of gals who can pull off the pixie look. I am far too tall to pull it off well, it just looks out of proportion.

    Like

  3. Love me some chest hair and scruffy five o’clock shadow on a man.

    As for you , darling, girl — you rock your hair. Some day I will cut my hair really really short so I can go gray (well, silver — my hair is more silver but only at the roots and only along my part — go figure) — but for now I still do the every four weeks root color and highlight thing. I have a lot of thick natural wavy hair that is so not ready to go au natural.

    My heroines usually have long hair – but when I get to Tweeter’s book, his gal will have really short hair.

    Like

  4. As I’ve said before…you would love my hubby, V. He’s got facial and chest hair! I’ll admit I’m guilty of the redheaded heroine, but only cause I’m redhaired myself. I typically have my heroines with short hair…guess cause once again, I used to have short hair. Now I tend to grow it out and then chop it all off in a dramatic fashion. When I was younger, I didn’t like hair. I still don’t on myself. I even shave my arms! But now that I’m a little older, I’ve come to appreciate a hairier man. I’m not talking wildebeest or anything, but fairly hairy.

    Like

Leave a Reply

