Guest Blogger Fae Sutherland

SkyRunnersFinalThe ladies of Love, Lust and Laptops would like to welcome author Fae Sutherland to the purple velvet couch today.

Fae has a new book coming out from Carina Press, and she has graciously agreed to answer my nosy questions and give us a sneak preview of her second Sky Bound book, Sky Runners.

And Fae has informed me she would love to give away one copy of her book, Sky Runners (PDF or EPUB), to one lucky person who posts a comment.

Welcome, Fae! Are you getting excited about the second book in this well-received series?
Very much so! This second book was a lot of fun to write, with the world already developed and the characters known to most of my readers I was able to really focus on the adventure my MCs go through and how their relationship grows throughout. It’s a very different sort of love story as compared to Sky Riders. A bit more angst, a little darker, but also a little sweeter, I think. I really hope readers enjoy it!

The Sky Bound series is categorized by your publisher as space western romance. What drew you to this genre?
All credit for my space western obsession goes to Joss Whedon and Firefly. I was introduced to the series in 2007 and have been obsessed ever since. Although I’ve always been into futuristic, space-set romances, I devoured them by the bagful in my twenties! One of my very favorite romances ever is Johanna Lindsey’s Warrior’s Woman, which is really the book that started my love for sexy stories in space.

Tell us a little about your book and the series.
The Skybound series is set in the distant future when humans are no longer ‘Earthlings’ and have spread to populate multiple planets and moons in multiple solar systems within the galaxy. Some people don’t live on planets at all but in space ships instead.
Our heroes are those who call a spaceship home. The Crux Ansata is owned by Captain Torin Covell. The pilot is Rain, Torin’s husband and Sky Riders was their story. Killian O’Neal is sort of second in command/ship’s cook/jack of all trades and Sky Runners is his love story. Then there’s Jeret, who starts out the series a mouthy, 16 year old bratchild with a gift for all things tech and ends the series in July’s release, Sky Hunter where he’s all grown up and finding his own happily ever after.

It’s just a lot of fun, an adventurous, rollicking good time with all of these men sort of dancing on the edge of good guy vs bad guy, criminal vs hero and finding love along the way. Not to mention having really great sex! 😉

From the reviews for the first book, I hear you have a lot of humor alongside the action, suspense, and hot m/m sex – does the humor come natural? I guess I’m asking — were you the class cut-up as a kid?
Haha, no I wouldn’t say I was really a class clown, I’m more of a natural smartass, though. I love writing banter and characters who are quick with the comebacks. That’s how I tend to be in real life so my characters come by it honest.

What draws you to write m/m romance?
Partly it’s being LGBT myself and being in a long-term same-sex relationship I enjoy showing that in the books I write. With everything changing for the better so fast for LGBT people in the world these days, it’s something I feel very strongly about representing in my work – happy, healthy, loving same-sex couples who are just like their hetero counterparts when it comes right down to it.

Are you working on another book? If so, tell us about it.
I am! Well, next up on the release schedule is the final Skybound book, Sky Hunter, which features Jeret and a man from his past. As for new work, I’m working on my first foray into M/F romance – it’s a foodie romance featuring a pair of chefs and it is sizzling hot!

I know you have co-authored books. How does that writing process work? And are you working on any books at the moment with a co-author?
Writing with a co-author is an amazing experience, but it can be very complicated. The writing process is a blast and usually moves really fast because you’ve got two people doing the work, but the editing that goes into turning what begins as basically a chat log into a cohesive novel is extensive.  Worth it, though!

I’m not actually working on anything co-written currently. I’ve basically stopped joint writing professionally in order to focus on my solo writing. I love both the wonderful ladies I’ve written books with, though, and we still write together sometimes just for fun.

Who is your favorite author?
Karen Marie Moning, hands down. She’s the kind of author I aspire to be. I read everything she puts out, whether it’s romance or her urban fantasy stuff, even the graphic novel of her Fever series, etc. Everything she writes is basically flaw-free in my eyes.

What are you reading now?
I’m currently reading Requiem, the third book in the Delirium series by YA author Lauren Oliver. I love this series and was really disappointed the tv show based on it didn’t get picked up this year.

What do you do to get in the mood to write?
Ha! I’m pretty much always in the mood to write. What I’m in the mood to write is really the question. It’s why I usually have a couple of stories going at the same time, so I can pick or choose based on my mood. But being in the mood to write, period? Always.

What is the easiest and hardest thing about writing?
Easiest is the characters. Characters tend to come to me, I don’t have to go looking for them or, like, ‘create’ them to fit the story I want to write. I always say I’m a reader of my own stories because when I write I usually don’t know what’s going to happen any more than a reader does. I learn about the characters and their stories as I go, the same as a reader.

Hardest is world-building. Writing the Skybound series has really taught me a lot about building a unique world because that’s what I had to do and I’d never really done that before. I tend to want to focus on the characters and their relationship building and so managing to not forget to flesh out the world is still the hardest part for me.

What is your writing day like once you start a book?
I’m lucky enough to be able to write full-time, so my work day is pretty much like anyone else’s. When I’m knee-deep in writing a book I usually get about five hours of solid writing every day while also doing stuff like working on my website or being active on Twitter and several writing forums I’m on, and of course I have to get in some slacking off time, lol. My guilty pleasure websites are Tumblr and ONTD.

Short Answer Questions:

Favorite Food Network Show: So hard to choose! I think Chopped, with Iron Chef America a very close second. [Monette note:  Those are my favs also and Cupcake Wars!]

Guilty Pleasure: First person shooter video games. Fallout 3/Fallout New Vegas as well as Skyrim are my two favorites. Blowing some stuff up is a great relaxer on the weekends!

Cat or dog?: Oh cats for sure. I have two and if my landlord (and my wife!) would allow it I’d have way more than just two. I’d be a crazy cat lady in a heartbeat.

Your male characters – boxers, briefs, or commando?: Best of both worlds – Boxer briefs

Star Wars or Star Trek?: Star Trek, no question. The only version I don’t really care for is Voyager, but all the other series’ and I’m loving the reboot so far, too.

Favorite Food: Crab rangoons with sweet chili dipping sauce

If you could choose to be a paranormal creature, what would you be?: I think I’d like to be one of Karen Marie Moning’s immortal Fae from her Fever world. I have a serious fear of dying so immortality would be awesome.

Where can your readers reach you? I can be reached through my website faesutherland.com as well as my blog faesutherland.blogspot.com, on twitter @faesutherland and email at faesutherland2@gmail.com

Do you have a blurb and an excerpt you’d like to share?

Absolutely! Here’s the blurb:

Crux Ansata second-in-command Killian O’Neal has a plan. The governor’s son, Neith, has been enslaved in a high-end brothel. Killian’s going to break him out, take him home and collect a reward. It’s a daring mercenary rescue. What could go wrong?

A lot, as it turns out. The governor doesn’t want his son back, the ship and crew are on the run from the slavers, and Neith is in withdrawal from a drug that instills in him a desperate lust.

A passionate heat flares between Killian and Neith–but is it just the effects of the drugs still in Neith’s system, or could it be something more permanent? They both need time to figure out if what they have is real–but Neith has taken a valuable item from his old masters and they’re not going to let him go easily. When the slavers catch up with the Ansata, Killian will have to choose between the safety of his ship and its crew, or life with the man he’s falling in love with.

And the excerpt, which is from Neith’s POV and takes place immediately following Neith having a panic attack due to the drugs he was forced to take prior to being rescued by Killian:

Neith clung to Killian, shaking his head. “No. No, don’t. Don’t leave.”

Killian settled back into the corner with him. “Not gonna go anywhere, then. Hey, talk to me, li’l bit, tell me about a happy thing. Somethin’ happy you remember.”

He shook, trying to do what Killian asked. His brain felt like a puddle of thick mud, sucking at him, slowing everything to a clumsy crawl. Remembering was hard but he struggled to do so because Killian asked him to.

“I…my mother makes amazing breakfast cakes.”

It was so random and so out of nowhere that he found himself relaxing a bit, trying to remember more through the fog of panic and anger and embarrassment that clung to him.

Killian rubbed his hand up and down his arms. “Yeah? Tell me about ’em.”

Why did he want to know? But Neith didn’t argue, just tried to concentrate and dug for the rest of the memory. “She puts berries in them, right before she flips them. So they don’t get smooshed into the batter. And she puts sugar on them, not all that syrup. It’s perfect.”

Killian shifted, settling onto the floor next to him, though he didn’t let go. “When was the last time she made ’em?”

Neith let out a sigh. “A long time. She doesn’t do things like that anymore. She doesn’t do a lot of the things she used to anymore. None of us do.”

Killian’s presence was soothing even though the panic was fading fast. Still, he liked the way Killian held him. For such a big man, he was incredibly gentle.

“I bet she misses it, too. When was the last time you asked her to make ’em for you?”

Neith tilted his head up to look at Killian. “I don’t remember.”

“Well, maybe you can ask when you see her again.” His expression got all determined and intense. “You will see her again, Neith. You’ll get to go home and be safe.”

“Home was never safe.” Still, it was familiar. He’d pretty much proven the point that he wasn’t cut out for running off to make a life for himself. Home was the only option he could see. What else could he do? For a split second, he let himself imagine staying with Killian. But it didn’t last any longer than the time it took for his brain to remind him it was because of him Killian was even involved in this mess. The last thing he’d want, or need, would be Neith to bring even more havoc into his life. Killian had better ways to spend forever than keeping him from fucking everything up every five seconds.

Killian was silent for long enough that Neith began to wonder if he was alright.

Then the other man did speak, his voice a quiet rumble. “It wasn’t for me either. You ain’t the only one who took off for the In-Between lookin’ to outrun the hurt. How do you think I ended up on the Ansata?”

Neith couldn’t imagine anyone wanting to hurt Killian. Hell, he was so big and strong, it seemed impossible to do. But he was learning more and more every day that Killian O’Neal wasn’t all he seemed.

 Thanks for being with us today, Fae.  We wish you many sales.

And readers, don’t forget to comment to get a chance to win a free copy of this exciting new book.

 

 

15 thoughts on “Guest Blogger Fae Sutherland

  1. Great interview…. Loved the short answer questions…
    This sounds like it’s gonna be a very intriguing read….

    caiidynsmommie(at)gmail(dot)com

    Like

  2. I didn’t even know space romance existed as a sub genre! I’ve totally been missing out. Considering Firefly and m/m romance novels are two of my greatest pleasures, I feel a tad ridiculous for not knowing this was out there.
    Fae was a great guest and you asked interesting questions. Thanks for posting and for helping me find something new!

    Like

    • Paige! Thanks for dropping by. The space genre (or scifi romance) has been around for a while, besides Fae there are Linnea Sinclair, Susan Grant, me *blushing” and many others — go forth, explore, and enjoy. There are also several blogs devoted to SFR as it is also known. Hugs.

      Like

  3. I think for me if I wrote a story I would also find characters the easiest and world building to be the hardest.

    penumbrareads(at)gmail(dot)com

    Like

  4. Enjoyed the interview!
    ahh~~ I really want this book. I hope to get it soon. ❤
    thanks for the chance to win it! 😀

    Judi
    arella3173_loveless@yahoo(dot)com

    Like

  5. Giselle is the winner of a copy of Fae’s book. I sent you an e-mail, Giselle, asking for your format, PDF or EPUB. Fae will send the book as soon as we hear back from you. Thanks to all who commented, and thanks to Fae for being here.

    Like

Leave a Reply

