Guest Blogger Patricia Rasey

Viper_500x750I’d like to welcome fellow author and a long-time friend, Patricia Rasey, to the purple velvet couch today.  Pat and I met on-line back in the mid-90s at a site called Allaboutmurder.  Then we bonded on a car trip to RT right after 9/11. You get to know a person really well when you share a room with them, get stranded in a small town in Kentucky with a broken down car (not hers or mine but the people-we-rode-with’s van), then drive a rental car through a horrible storm with resulting traffic accidents on I-75 in central Ohio. That kind of experience cements a life-long friendship. *grin*

 Pat has a new book titled Viper, Book 1 in the Sons of Sangue series. I can sum this book up in three words – hunky vampire bikers. Yum.  

_____________________________________________________________

So, Pat — vampire bikers?  Tell me and the readers what sparked that combination.

 First—thanks for having me over. Love the purple velvet couch (rubs hand over the soft, plush surface). Not to mention the trip down memory lane. We had some great times and great fun. You’re right—we shared some lifelong memories. And hopefully will share many more.

My idea for vampire bikers actually came from a few influences. Most of which is my love for bikers. My husband and I went out east to visit a dear friend, Lara Adrian, and her husband. She had been trying to get me to write a vampire book for a few years, having her own success with the genre. I was so busy writing romantic suspense that I wasn’t ready to make that leap. But then there we stood on the side of a mountain in New Hampshire, checking out the beautiful fall colors, when I noted a group of motorcycle club members near us. I mentioned their “rockers.” Lara started asking me questions about rockers, motorcycle cuts, and the like when she realized how much I had studied and loved the subject of outlaw bikers.

On the way home from that trip, I got a text from Lara that simply said: Biker Vampires. My reply back: Now there’s a book I can write and get into. Sons of Sangue was born.

 The first book in the series is Viper.  Tell us about this book and the next one coming up after that.

Viper, and his twin Hawk, are direct descendants of the original vampire Vlad Tepes. Viper is the president of the outlaw motorcycle club (OMC), Sons of Sangue, and is responsible for keeping the vampires in line and keeping their secret. Rules are put in place to keep their coven from being found out and hunted down. Breaking those rules is not acceptable.

Drained bodies start showing up in their small town of Pleasant, where the OMC had promised to work with the law to keep the residents safe and violence outside of town. Now Kane must answer for the bodies piling up and soon becomes the number one suspect. The problems escalate when Viper realizes his attraction to the lead detective, Cara Brahnam, and he begins breaking his own rules in order to protect her from an ancient vampire bent on revenge.

Hawk, club vice president, must now step up to the plate to protect his brother and his reckless actions where the detective is concerned. Hawk runs across his own Achilles heel when an old obsession pops up on his radar, a childhood friend to the detective, Suzi Andrews. He’ll need to eat a lot of crow in Book 2 to win her back.

Do you have a series story arc that designates a certain number of books – or are you just going to keep writing about hunky vampire bikers for as long as you have story ideas?

 As of now, I have a story arc for three books in the series: Viper, Hawk, and Gypsy.  Gypsy’s character is introduced in Viper. He’s a fun character that doesn’t like following rules. He lives life large. I’ll build upon his character in Book 2. If the series does well, who knows?  There are several bikers in the three books and any one of them could get their own story.

Ever since I’ve known you, you’ve written paranormal suspense, even before it was popular (which is something you and I had in common way back when).  Share some of your other books with the fans.

 My roots started in the love of the paranormal. However, my timing wasn’t always good. I started a vampire novel entitled Deadly Obsession and quickly turned it into a romantic suspense when I was told vampire novels were dead and that no one was buying them. Deadly Obsession became a novel about people who have a taste for human blood and practice things like blood-letting. The Hour Before Dawn followed, really delving into the underground subculture and remains dear to my heart to this day.

I also wrote a short story entitled, In the Mind of Darkness, that was actually my first ever story about vampires. It won a P&E Short Story Horror award and is included in the print novella of Fear the Dark. I also wrote the vampire novella Sanitarium, about a vamp who institutionalized himself. Couple that with my romantic suspense novels about bikers: Kiss of Deceit and Eyes of Betrayal, a marriage of the two genres seemed inevitable.

Is there one particular thing you find challenging about writing?

 I think my biggest challenge is having enough story ideas, but not enough time to write them all. Trying to find the right niche at the right time is very challenging as an author. I have a few sequels that haven’t been written, because I moved onto something else…looking for that right market. Then when a reader wants to know when the next book for another novel is going to come out, and I don’t have an answer, makes me wish I could write a novel in a day.

What do you do to get in the mood to write?

 I usually like silence or no distractions, because that will take me right out of the mood. If I listen to music, it can’t have words unless I am attempting to set a mood for a night club scene or something similar. I have a laptop designated for my writing. I can go to any room I choose to get a few stolen hours to write. I do have an office, because I also work full time from home. But after spending 7 to 8 hours a day in there working the day job, I don’t want to sit in there and write.

 Do you find love scenes difficult to write?

 To me, they are the most difficult of the scenes to write. I strive over mood, emotion, the words. You don’t want them to sound similar or stale, or use words that could offend your audience. And yet you want to stimulate the reader, build tension, and come to a satisfactory conclusion. After building tension, the last thing you want to do is let the reader down.

 Are your characters a reflection on you or anyone you know?

Life almost always makes its way into my stories. Something that happened to me or something I heard or observed. However, it’s always my own spin on the truth. But mostly, my stories are pure imagination.

My characters are mostly born from my imagination. I have been asked by friends to be put in my novels before, and I have, but I change them. Their personalities are altered, they may do things they wouldn’t do in life. And most often, I’ll tell the person you will be killed off and then I do. They don’t survive. But never a main character. The hero and heroine are born in my mind and exist there. They become friends to me and are real.

 If you were a supernatural creature, what would you like to be and why?

That’s an easy one for me. A Vampire. I’ve always been fascinated by them. So becoming one wouldn’t be a hardship. Not that I like the idea of drinking blood, but they are such sexual beings. They captivate us. I think that’s why people love to read about them. They make sexy characters.

 Who is your favorite author?

 Sandra Brown has always been my favorite author. I’ll read anything written by her. She’s a great talent. And then there is Lara Adrian. Yes, she’s been a great friend from way back in the day before either of us were published, but from the minute I read some of her work, I knew she was extremely talented. I always look forward to reading her books.

 What are you reading now?

Lush by Lauren Dane. That cover and story line drew me right in.

What is your guilty pleasure?

Coffee. Lately it’s been Iced Coffees. I love an Iced Caramel Macchiato. My personal favorite!

 Quick Answers:

Sparkly vampires or the darker kind – or somewhere in between?

 Darker. Doesn’t mean I like the villain style vampire or horror…I prefer the alpha vampire hero.

Favorite kind of music?

I go across the board from rock, to pop to country. Depends on my mood.

 Favorite movie?

The Crow or Queen of the Damned. It’s a toss up.

Favorite food?

 Chinese.

 Do your alpha-vampire biker guys wear boxers, briefs, boxer-briefs, or go commando?

 Boxer briefs.

Where do vampire bikers take their women on dates?

Dates? They’re too busy getting their heroines out of trouble. But if they were actually able to take them out on the town then it would be in the corner of a dark night club.

Harleys or Ducatis?

 Harley Davidson.

Favorite brand of biker boots?

 I don’t have a favorite brand. If I did Harley Davidson boots would be my pick. But definitely the black super harness boots style.

 Vanilla or kinky sex (for your vampire bikers, of course)?

 Kinky.

Where can your readers reach you?

My website: www.PatriciaRasey.com

Email: patricia@patriciatasey.com

Facebook: www.facebook.com/PatriciaARasey

Twitter: www.twitter.com/patriciarasey

Do you have a blurb and an excerpt from Viper you’d like to share?

 Blurb:

Kane ‘Viper’ Tepes is one of the oldest living descendants of Vlad III. Vampirism is in his blood. So is being the President of the Sons of Sangue. Those who break motorcycle club rules that protect their coven are dealt swift punishment. No exceptions. Until one pretty little detective has him compromising his beliefs, and endangering his position as head of the MC.

Vampirism had Cara Brahnam turning tail and leaving behind her life in Pleasant. Now, ten years later, she’s back as lead detective and wants to see the person responsible for draining the women of Lane County brought to justice, no matter what deal the gang of miscreants has struck with the sheriff. Or the fact that her number one suspect is the sole reason she fled in the first place.

Now someone has targeted Cara as the next victim and Kane must join in the hunt to find the ancient vampire that wants her dead.

Excerpt:

 “He wants me to know that he’s targeted you.”

She wet her lips, the tip of her pink tongue nearly having him forgetting his latest resolve.

“I don’t understand any of this.”

“I know what he’s capable of, Mia Bella.”

“But why would they use me to get to you?”

“Damn it!” Kane shoved his hand through his hair and pushed it from his face. “Just pack your bags, Cara. I’m moving you to the MC clubhouse where I can better keep an eye on you.”

“I’m not moving, Kane, not until you tell me how I got involved in the middle of a pissing match between you and some ancient vampire.”

He ground his teeth. Damned stubborn woman. “Why can’t you just do as I say? I can’t protect you here, Cara.”

“Well, apparently”—she stepped so close he could smell her blood rushing through her veins— “had I not ever met you, I wouldn’t need protecting. So I think you owe me the truth, Kane.”

“I don’t know the answer, Cara … other than he wants you dead. Why? Because it would hurt me.”

She spread her arms out, the gesture causing her robe to slip, revealing more of her cleavage … answering the question of what lay beneath her robe. Nothing. His breath left his chest in a hiss. How much could one vampire take? They were sexual beings, for crying out loud, not used to practicing restraint. His cock hardened. He wanted to bury himself to the hilt, feel her walls surround him like a silk glove and forget this primordial even existed.

“How could my death possibly hurt you?”

“Because I want you, Cara, I have for ten years.” When she didn’t comment, only gaped at him, he continued, “Is that what you wanted to hear, Mia Bella? You have one vampire who wants to fuck you senseless, who can barely contain himself in your presence, and one who wants to take your life because of it.”

Kane’s eyes blackened as his fangs elongated in his rising desire. He could see his crazed reflection in her gaze. Damn, but he wanted to throw her on the messed bed she had just crawled out of, push aside her robe and run his hands along her silken flesh, take what he’d fantasized about as he watched her sleep. He didn’t think his actions through, just knew the need sluicing through him was more powerful than anything he had experienced before. Grasping her biceps, he pulled her flush and slanted his mouth over hers, his tongue sliding between her parted lips. God help him, but he was a hair’s breadth away from losing all control.

Thanks, Pat, for visiting with us at Love Lust and Laptops. Much success with your new book and series.

Thanks, Monette! I appreciate you inviting me. By the way, can I take this purple velvet couch with me? I think it would look great in the sons of Sangue clubhouse!

Um, sorry, no can do.  I love you dearly, but that purple velvet couch holds some good memories for the Ladies and I.

You can buy Viper here:

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Viper-Sons-of-Sangue-ebook/dp/B00DXU05C2/

Barnes and Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/viper-patricia-a-rasey/1116050015?ean=2940148434429

Kobo: http://www.kobobooks.com/ebook/Viper/book-x5QtJD0_50WgcwJjIGpVfg/page1.html?s=c63nqOlnmkmGg1CGf7JpOQ&r=1

14 thoughts on “Guest Blogger Patricia Rasey

  1. Hi Pat. Thanks so much for joining us here today! You had me at vampire bikers…seriously, this sounds so hot and I have no doubt your characters will be infiltrating my dreams shortly!

    Like

  2. Thank you, Rosanna! I appreciate that–glad to intrigue you with my vampire biker bad boys! I do hope you like them if you get a chance to read the book! And thank you for having me as a guest here! You guys have a great blog!

    Like

  3. BTW Viper comes out this week — July 16th, right, Pat?

    Pat will also guest blog at my Romantic Imperative blog for Muse Wednesday — she has two muses that have kept her writing – so plan on coming to visit her on Wednesday, July 17th at my blog.

    Like

  4. Pingback: Guest Blogger Patricia Rasey | Romantic Imperative

Leave a Reply

