A Matter of Faith by Raven McAllan #guestblogger #ravenmcallan

I always considered I was an easy going, glass full, take me as I/you/we are sort of person. Even tempered and laid back.

Er no, evidently not.

I was sitting in a rather nice pub beer garden, when three shall we call them well groomed 40-50-ish women came out and sat opposite. Bottle of wine, glasses. And preening.

You know (bitch alert here) long flowing perfectly coiffured blond (highlighted?) tresses, sunnies pushed on top of those aforementioned tresses, and jewelry. Lots of jewelry. One of them swung round and nearly hit a barman in the eye with her pendant.

Oops.

Now maybe I was already on the defensive, I mean toned, honed, and well, why don’t I look like that? Answer, I don’t tone, don’t hone and aren’t 40-50-ish, but so what? Snigger
I would have just looked on, felt envious, and forgotten about them, as at this point DH came back with our wine, but OMG the voices. Loud? You’d have heard them on the beach, and that was three streets away and across the golf course.

And the subject was sadly made to make my blood boil.

Books. Or rather dissing books unless they were ‘tomes’. I tried to keep my temper until they got more and more negative, and no they weren’t talking about ‘that book’. It morphed from general, dissing to specific, and romance specifically. Okay maybe they had such fabulous sex lives they didn’t need a bit of fantasy or romance when they read, but me? I enjoy it and judging by sales of books all around the world, so do millions of other people.

One said that unless a book was at least 100k it actually wasn’t a book at all. And added in the most derogatory way that “after all anyone could dash off those silly little novella things that are brought out at a drop of a hat.”

I restrained myself from going over and asking for the titles of the silly little novella things she’d written.

One of the others nodded in a sage and agreeing way. The third looked uncomfortable, and didn’t say a word. She just drank her wine. (Bet she had some on her ebook.)

Now I know we all are different, and thank goodness for that. Some people, like long serious books, others stories of a more frivolous nature. One person might go for chick lit, another mysteries and yet someone else biographies. That’s the joy of reading and writing, something for everyone.

But, and there had to be a but now didn’t there, rolls eyes well there does when I’m chatting, just because something isn’t to your taste, doesn’t mean its silly, or unworthy. It’s just not your cup of tea. (Or glass of wine.)

So you can see why I was annoyed. I’d love to see what she considers dashing off a silly story, and accepting it’s not something you do over a glass of wine and in your tea break. (Well I don’t, not sure about anyone else.) I—and I am sure, every one of us who write a short story, a novella, a book, or indeed a tome—put in as much care, effort, and research, as any other writer. We want our work to be the best it possibly can. To be entertaining in whichever way our work needs, and to give our readers value for money.

In this day and age, no one wants to feel short changed, or less worthy than the next person, and why should they? Now I didn’t know this person from Adam, and I didn’t take her words personally (oh yes I did giggle) but I did think she was being snarky, and why? I assume it makes some people feel good to denigrate others, but personally, what a waste of time and effort.

I subscribe to the ‘if you can’t say something nice keep shtum’ walk of life. Life is too short to be nasty!

So on that note, you’ll know why my own blog is called Raven’s Ramblings, I do sort of go on a bit, but well…

Raven lives in Scotland, along with her husband and their two cats—their children having flown the nest—surrounded by beautiful scenery, which inspires a lot of the settings in her books.

She is used to sharing her life with the occasional deer, red squirrel, and lost tourist, to say nothing of the scourge of Scotland—the midge.

A lover of reading, she appreciates the history inside a book, and the chance to peek into the lives of those from years ago. Raven admits that she enjoys the research for her books almost as much as the writing; so much so, that sometimes she realizes she’s strayed way past the information she needs to know, and not a paragraph has been added to her WIP.
Her long-suffering husband has learned to work the Aga, ignore the dust bunnies and realize when a glass (or two) is a needed.)
Her latest book, sorry silly little novella thing, A Matter of Faith is now out, and ready to be dissed…er devoured.

A Matter Of Faith,

amatteroffaith 600x900
Leonora knew she’d wait for Justin to come home. She hadn’t expected it to be so long or so fraught.

When Justin joined his regiment, and was sent to the continent, Leonora promised to wait for him to return. She didn’t think it would take so long, or she’d have so many difficulties to face. Her life changes as she struggles to cope without Justin and keep his estate running.

With someone out to destroy all she holds dear, Leonora has to fight for her beliefs and her family, and hope they get the happy ever after they deserve.

http://www.breathlesspress.com/index.php?main_page=product_free_shipping_info&cPath=17&products_id=457&zenid=ha5b6fdadkki4gem4o3i730k87

http://www.amazon.co.uk/A-Matter-Of-Faith-ebook/dp/B00DJ75FCE/ref=sr_1_2?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1374039659&sr=1-2&keywords=Raven+McAllan

http://www.amazon.com/A-Matter-Of-Faith-ebook/dp/B00DJ75FCE/ref=sr_1_2?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1374039659&sr=1-2&keywords=Raven+McAllan

http://www.bookstrand.com/a-matter-of-faith

https://www.allromanceebooks.com/product-amatteroffaith-1223858-340.html

Raven is generally harmless, and you can find out more about here…

http://www.ravenmcallan.com
http:/ /www.ravenmcallan.blogspot.com
https://www.facebook.com/rmcallan     (my page)
https://www.facebook.com/ravenmcallan      (author page)
https://twitter.com/RavenMcAllan

4 thoughts on “A Matter of Faith by Raven McAllan #guestblogger #ravenmcallan

  1. Thanks for being with us today, Raven! What a wonderful post. I am amazed you kept schtum, I would have had trouble too. Oh well, we’ll let those ladies be, and get back to writing our silly novellas, huh? LOL

    Like

  2. Like Rosanna, I was surprised you managed to keep quiet. Me? I would’ve started talking about my latest book in an equally loud voice and how the royalties from my last one bought this, that, and the other. So, I admire your willpower. Thanks for visiting us today. Keep rambling, sister.

    Like

Leave a Reply

