Guest Blogger Aneesa Price!

It is a great pleasure for me to welcome Aneesa Price to Love, Lust and Laptops today! Aneesa and I became friends online through various romance channels and she is just delightful and so supportive of her fellow authors. To boot, she writes some very sexy romance and PNR.

Welcome Aneesa!

Take a Trip With a Romance Novel

My romance journeys began, like many little girls’, with travels to the fantastical lands of princesses and princes, dragons and evil witches.  With hormonal surges came a need to venture to young adult reads such as Sweet Valley High. Later, went on a school ‘tour’ to visit Elizabethan England in Shakespeare, the dark moors in WutheringHeights and the Southern gentility in Gone with the Wind. I made many pit-stops to my mom’s Mills & Boons (without her knowledge of course). Yes, the stamps in my romance passport are many, and varied now in adulthood as I’ve visited a myriad of paranormal realms and a number of cities world-wide. I’ve become a bit of a tour guide as I’ve begun reviewing books and lately, a travel company, as I invite you to encounter the worlds I’ve created in my novels.

This blog post is neither a controversial one, nor do I purport to wow you with my wit or humor. Instead, feeling rather nostalgic, I shall share what I love so much about romance, knowing that you probably feel the same. Think of it as a comfortable chat amongst girlfriends over a cuppa about things they enjoy. And sometimes, like a good romance, we need that. No hype, no drama, just comfort and familiarity.

So why romance?

I do read other genres. However, I avoid expeditions to worlds where children or parents are harmed. My reasons are personal – I have worked as a psychologist and having seen enough abuse and harm done to children, I don’t see the point in subjecting myself to more. Living in South Africa, where violent crime is a common occurrence, and having children of my own, horrors are a daily reminder I want to escape from.

Reading and writing romance allows me to escape to worlds where there is hope and the promise of a better tomorrow. With the emotional and mental escapism comes stress-relief. As a mom, until very recently a full-time corporate manager, part-time writer and wife, any stress relief is more than welcome. It is not just the journey of the imagination – it is a mental and emotional one too. I pick up my kindle and relax in a bath or my spot on the sofa and I do so with excitement and anticipation for the delights to come. Usually, poignancy sets in as I discover the internal conflicts of the characters. Sometimes the characters’ pasts I read and write about are soul-destroying and I shed a tear or two. That is cathartic. After a long week at work, there is nothing better than a good cry to get it all out and start the weekend feeling lighter! Depending on the book, I may find myself applauding the characters when they have an ‘ah-ha’ moment, feel like throttling others that persist in making the hero or heroine’s lives miserable or I laugh hysterically at a particularly ridiculous moments. I remember laughing while reading a Susan Mallery novel last week where the heroine used to stalk the hero as a teenager. She went so far as to glue his windows shut so that he couldn’t go to the prom with his girlfriend. I had a giggle too when I wrote a funny incident a silly groom had at a wedding in my forthcoming novel and shared yet another giggle with another author who wrote about a cow suicide. So, emotionally, I get to go through all that the characters go through – from conflict to challenge and trauma to humorous moments and ultimately love found and fulfilled.

Mentally, I am privileged to escape to new worlds, learn about other cultures, meet new people and take my imagination on a journey that mirrors my emotions. It’s a vacation from start to finish in a few hours instead of two weeks. I loved discovering the levels of hell in Rosanna Leo’s Sweet Hell and learnt more about Greek mythology in Sherrilyn Kenyon’s novels than I ever did during history lessons at school. Writing romance is also nothing if not an educational experience. For each book we write, romance writers extensively research the locations and subject matter within their novels. I’ve read the books on witchcraft so I could accurately craft spells in Coffin Girls and literally watched street activity on Google maps in Alaska. Zrinka Jelic, another romance writer whose work I enjoy, wrote her historical paranormal romance, Treasured Chests, so well that anyone reading it would swear that she had somehow travelled back in time to re-live the era of privateering.  And of course, there is the untouchable, Nora Roberts, who introduces me to vocations I’ve never heard of and details that can only come from research. Romance novels weave facts into the fiction so that pieces of it resonate and others educate. And so, the writer travels first be it physically or virtually while doing research and in doing so, is able to create a place for readers to visit as many times as they wish and have a vacation.

I’ve recently discovered that romance novels outsell any other genre. Given the many travels it allows us, I can completely understand why. That bit of knowledge also tells me that there are many wonderful places to discover and interesting people to meet. So, I’m signing off now to pack my suitcase (by hitting 1-click on my kindle), settle into the hotel (aka my frothy bath) and enjoy my vacation (the newest romance novel on my kindle).

Yours in Romance and Reading,

Aneesa Price

Author, Reviewer and Blogger

 

Connect with me:

Connect with Aneesa Price:

Amazon Author Page: http://www.amazon.com/Aneesa-Price/e/B008NA62CO

Facebook Fan Club: https://m.facebook.com/groups/390755617667441

Facebook Author and Reviewer Page:  https://www.facebook.com/AneesaPriceSugarandSpice

Twitter: www.twitter.com/aneesaprice

Blog: www.sugaryspicyreads.com

 

Author Pages: 

Amazon:   http://www.amazon.com/Aneesa-Price/e/B008NA62CO

Smashwords: https://www.smashwords.com/profile/view/AneesaPrice

Image of Aneesa PriceAbout Aneesa Price:

Aneesa Price writes romance and lives it with her university sweetheart and husband. After having surmounted the challenges of being in a bi-racial marriage in the newly democratic South Africa, she now attributes her marital bliss to purposefully added spice and passionately resolved differences. After living in a variety of cities in South Africa, she now lives the life of an expat and sees the world as the playground she enjoys with her husband and two daughters.

Aneesa completed her internship in counselling psychology and went on to work first as a therapist and then in Corporate Finance in on projects and in organizational change. This diversity in experience, coupled with her understanding of the human psyche, is translated into her writing through the creation of believable, flawed characters with the innate ability to overcome adversity.

She writes to give her readers the gift of experiencing the new and fascinating, something she strives for herself when she explores new places, reads, cooks with her kids or goes picking for antiques with her husband.

Aneesa’s works include:

Coffin Girls New Final Cover for kindle

Coffin Girls, Elegantly Undead (Book 1 of the Coffin Girls Series)

A sexy, female vampire with secrets. A sinfully-handsome witch prince on a mission. A formidable Vampire Council with something to hide.
A vampire descendent from the original Coffin Girls, Anais runs a successful event and wedding planning business from her majestic New Orleans plantation house. To the Vampire Council, she is seen as an exemplary hostess and household head of a misfit bunch of vampires.
When Yves, her maker and head of the Vampire Council requests her assistance in hosting the mysterious, yet dashing Prince of Witches, Conall, she has no option but to accept. But Anais is the keeper of secrets; secrets that can kill. Protective of her family’s undiscovered uniqueness, Anais is guarded, yet intrigued by the enigmatic witch prince.
Conall and Anais are drawn together when confronted with fatal encounters and an unimaginable destiny… if she’s willing to accept it and fight.

http://www.amazon.com/Coffin-Girls-Elegantly-Undead-ebook/dp/B008N0GWVA

https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/205913

Ghosts and Lovers - First Confession cover 2

Ghosts & Lovers: First Confession (An Erotic Novella)

“I am female, I am a slut, and most days, I think I’m a loon too, but those are my secrets to keep except from you. … I ask you to play the role of a priest – nonjudgmental, understanding, and to atone me for my sins…” ~ Simone

Simone, the quintessential desperate housewife, is primarily absorbed on settling her family into their new home in the vibrant, metropolitan city of Johannesburg, South Africa. Unbeknownst to her, the greatest threat lurked not outside of the eight-foot walls and electric fencing but within the walls she seeks sanctuary. But the threat comes disguised as tantalizing pleasures of the most carnal nature that challenges her views of love, marriage and sex. Can Simone resist and rescue her family from the evil she’s let into their lives?

This is her first confession.

http://www.amazon.com/Ghosts-Lovers-First-Confession-ebook/dp/B00AB4C530

https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/292287

6 thoughts on “Guest Blogger Aneesa Price!

  1. Hi, Aneesa. Thanks for being with us today. And like you, I enjoy traveling to new places in romance novels. Mary Stewart and M.M. Kaye took me to all sorts of exotic places when I was a teenager.

    Like

Leave a Reply

