Romance Heroes on the Silver Screen

I’ve spent hours over the last few days looking at male models and stock photos for a new project I’ve been working on (soooo excited…more on that to come). If you’ve never done it, let me tell you – it’s damn hard to find a picture that represents a fully formed character. I can get close, maybe. I can find similar characteristics such as hair and eye color, but capturing the characters true essence happens on the page.

Annnnnnd, that got me to thinkin’, as I do on occasion, about romance heroes going from page to movie screen. Stick with me here, I have a point.

The author works hard to give the reader a mental image. If done well, the reader comes away with a feeling of connection, a sense that they have intimate knowledge of the hero and his life.

So, what happens when the reader is forced to accept Hollywood’s version of the hero she loves? Does this diminish or enhance the character for you? There seems to be quite a debate going on about this right now.

Tell me what you think … then tell me the movies made from romance novels that you think Hollywood got right … so I’ll know what to watch! 🙂

Until next time…

13 thoughts on “Romance Heroes on the Silver Screen

  1. Hollywood goes with bankable actors and not if they fit the character or not — case in point, Lee Child’s Jack Reacher. Um, Tom Cruise is nowhere near the body type or image Lee depicts in his excellent series. Just saying. Jack Reacher fans were fairly vocal about it too. 🙂

    I don’t watch romantic movies so I can’t think of any off the top of my head. 🙂 I like action flicks.

    Like

  2. I am sure I will take a beating on this…but Rob Pattinson as Edward Cullen..sorry the book Described him as an Angel and perfect…and he was sooooo not. There was a movie made back in 1980 called Somewhere in Time the novel was by Richard Matheson they cast Christopher Reeves as Richard Collier..and it was perfect. 🙂 A lot of you prolly don’t remember this movie but I loved it and it was my favorite movie for years.

    Like

  3. I really liked the casting for A Walk to Remember. I don’t really watch romances from books though…most of the ones I like are just screenplays. Hmmm…not really a romance, but Bridget Jones’ Diary. Hugh Grant and Darcy (aka Colin Firth) were even who Helen Fielding based her characters on, so it couldn’t be more perfect that they played in the movie.

    Like

  4. I like Romance movies and action movies too. Now Mark Walburg will make me forget that I need to be a lady in the theater. My preference is read the book and get the whole idea of who should play the part in the movie. I like to do my own casting. (Smiling)

    Like

Leave a Reply

