Why the heck bears?

I know, I know.

When most people think shifters, they think wolves. Or Sam Merlotte. Heck, I think of Sam a lot too…that’s neither here nor there.

If you know me at all, you know I have a thing for slightly different shifters. After all, this is coming from the woman who writes about selkies. ‘Nuff said.

However, when I embarked on the Gemini Island Shifters series, I couldn’t help but use bear shifters as my main characters. At first glance, I saw the issues, but realized those issues could become delicious sources of tension and sexy conflict. You just have to look at the actual bear, the real animal, to see what I mean.

Whereas wolves are pack animals, bears are usually solitary. For me, this was plot bunny number 1. This trait is what inspired Ryland in Predator’s Kiss. He is independent and prefers to rely on his own strengths. He doesn’t trust easily…especially when heroine Lia wanders into his part of the woods.

On the other side of the spectrum, we have his rock star brother Soren from Predator’s Serenade. You’d think he’s more sociable, as he’s a womanizer, but Soren has few close attachments. The relationship with his brother is also strained at the best of times. These gruff bears have to learn to be nice to each other. To say nothing about how Soren has to learn to accept Gioia, his heroine. That is a struggle, indeed!

LSB Cover Art Template for PhotoShopPredator's Serenade

 

Bears can tend to be ornery as well. You don’t want to poke a bear, right? These creatures may be warm and fuzzy, but they are in no way cuddly. They are enormous predators, and there are few creatures in the wild who would dare take them on. To me, this makes for an appealing shifter as well.

Of course, if you’ve ever gone camping, you’ve been warned about keeping your food away from bears. These animals love their food…big appetites…see where I’m going with this?? This very fun plot bunny inspired me to embark on some interesting food-play scenes.

They are very dominant in the wild as well. Did you know that, during the mating process, a male bear will bite the cheek of a female bear? It’s to express his dominance over her, and if she wants to mate with him, she must submit. Again, intriguing plot bunny.

Traits such as these helped me to have lots of fun in writing my Gemini Island Shifters series, and I hope they’ve made for a fun reading experience as well.

Predator Serenade is now available at http://www.lsbooks.com/predators-serenade-p818.php, Amazon and ARE.

14 thoughts on “Why the heck bears?

  1. All I can say is why not bears! I love them and Ryland and Soren are my top 2 delicious bears:) I loved how you humanized these bears Rosanna right up to the point where suddenly their true bear escapes:) Oh and I need to remind you…next Gemini Island book..the heroine needs to be named t’irla LOL

    Like

    • Thank you so much, t’irla! I’m so glad you like my bear boys; I know full well that’s high praise from a connoisseur like yourself! LOL I do hope you enjoy the next installment of Gemini Isle…although I have to break it to you gently, the next heroine might be a meek customer service clerk named Marci…but you didn’t hear it from me!

      Like

    • You! Yes you with the innocent face over there. You keep talking like Soren is yours when he’s MY BOOK BEARFRIEND! Rosanna said Ryland was yours but SOREN IS MINE! I (and he) keep saying this but you, my darling crazy-like-me friend T, aren’t listening. In fact I bet you are sitting there reading this with your hands over your ears singing la-la-la-la-la!

      Thank you Rosanna! We all adore Soren and are wonderfully happy to have his book available for the world to enjoy. Marci huh… *cooooool*

      Like

      • Thank you my lovely Heather! Soren is yours…I promised him to you and the others can only look, no touchie. Thanks for visiting me here. 🙂

        Like

  2. Rosanna! It’s here, it’s here. Woot! I love your bear shifters and can’t wait to read Soren’s book. I am saving it for when I have been a very good girl (read have my current WIP out to my betas and crit buds) and deserve a treat! Many sales, sweetie.

    Like

Leave a Reply

