Ahhh…the Relief

So, what happens when a manuscript is finally finished? How does that make me feel? Sad? Lonely? Relieved? Overwhelmed? Invigorated?

The answer–all of the above.

I finished a very long WIP (work in progress) yesterday afternoon. It’s the second book in a BDSM series that will release with Samhain Publishing next year. The Emergence series. These three books are each almost 90k. That’s a lot of words. I admit, I was dragging in the middle. Somewhere around the halfway point I wanted to throw the work out the window in frustration. However, I persevered. And I’m so pleased with the results.

There is still much work to be done. It will take me the better part of a week to read through and make sure I covered my bases. I have errors and question marks all over the place because I’m so forgetful. Plus, those darn characters change sometimes and I have to go backward and rework them a bit.

I feel kinda sad when a book ends, just like I feel when I finish reading a book. The euphoria crashes and I get down.

I also feel lonely. Yeah, lonely. Is that weird? I was eating, sleeping, dreaming, and going through all my daily tasks with those characters for weeks. Now they are gone. They froze in time. Thank God I will get to revisit this particular group again soon for book three!

I get overwhelmed too. The writing was actually the easy part! Now, the real work begins. I know well how much I will need to concentrate to read through this dozens of times and make sure I didn’t contradict myself!

And I’m invigorated! Do you have any idea how much work I got done around the house since yesterday afternoon!? After writing the last 8k by about three o’clock, I jumped up and cleaned the kitchen, did the laundry, hung with the family. So many things. I was pumped. Seems like I would be tired and down, but I was excited and ready to go!

Well, that covers my manuscript highs and lows for today. Guess I better get on to the task of editing. Ugh…

Becca

2 thoughts on “Ahhh…the Relief

  1. I often feel exactly the same, Becca. I definitely go through a bit of a “mourning period” for my characters, as they felt like friends for a period of time. Luckily, we can revisit them. LOL

    Like

Leave a Reply

