Proud to be an American

It started off like any other morning. I was asleep, having worked late the night before at the hospital. It was a little before nine a.m. when my mom came in to wake me up, claiming a plane had flown into the World Trade Center. Needless to say, I didn’t believe her. I got out of bed, sans glasses, and stood in front of our widescreen television, squinting at the screen. I got the surprise of my life as I stood with my nose pressed to television just as the second plane struck.

I was literally speechless. I remember gasping, running to get my glasses, and then camping out on the couch for the next couple of hours. I recall getting goose-bumps as figures leapt from the windows, desperately trying to survive despite the horrible fall. I remember covering my mouth in horror as first one, and then the second tower fell, the disbelief as the Pentagon was attacked, the sadness as another plane fell from the sky, this time striking no building.

As an American, I was frightened for what next. As a human being, I cried for the needless loss of life. It was years, over ten in fact, before I would even scroll the list of victims and their ages. The thought that children were onboard haunted me. The families that suffered because of a small group and their crazed beliefs pain me still.

But like we always do, we rallied. The sense of American pride grew stronger. For one day, we were united. It’s that sense of unity I adore about our country. When attacked, we show a brave front.

Now I’m not going to get political. Needless to say I’m the last person you want to quiz on current events. But as the anniversary of 9/11 approaches and our country is faced with a decision to make war, I appeal to the masses. Let us be Americans, first and foremost. No matter what comes, our country is worth fighting for. Despite who you voted for, despite your affiliations, we belong to one of the greatest nations in the world. Be proud of where we’ve been. Be proud of where we’re going.

And above all, be an American.

5 thoughts on “Proud to be an American

    • Thanks, Ann! I still remember it vividly myself. I watched a special this weekend on 9/11 and it provide my muse for this week’s post. I normally stick to the “lighter” side of life, but it was time for a change.

      Like

  1. I remember where I was and couldn’t tear myself away from the television. I was to fly that weekend to British Columbia for an arbitration conference. Needless to say, with the U.S. being attacked and flying somewhat suspect for a while, the conference was cancelled.

    I am very proud to live in a country where I can be educated, work in any job I’m qualified for, and choose how I live my life. We are very lucky to have freedom of choice.

    Like

Leave a Reply

