Guest Blogger Livia Ellis!

It has been my pleasure to read several of Livia Ellis’ Memoirs of a Gigolo books. From the first read, Livia astonished me with her talent and wit, and I’m thrilled to have her here as a guest to introduce her latest read, Bare in Bermuda.

Does this look sexy or does this look sexy? Now please read on as Livia answers a few questions about her latest work.

1291952_528694170533115_1902121433_n

1) What is Bare in Bermuda all about?

Henna is a woman in her thirties that is professionally successful and appears to have it all. What she’s missing is someone to make a life with. When her younger sister announces her spontaneous wedding with a man she’s only known for a few weeks, Henna finds herself on a plane to Bermuda and in the arms of a handsome stranger.

2) What was the hardest part to write in the book?
Bare in Bermuda was an easy story to write. It just came to me as I was writing. The hardest thing was having to take a break at the end of the day and leaving it until the next morning.

3) Would you do anything differently if you could tackle the story again?
I would have included the first chapter of the next book at the end. The story continues directly after it leaves off in the next book. A lot of my readers have written in reviews that it seems like the ending is abrupt. I would have liked to have included a bit of a teaser about what is to come next.

4) How personal is your writing?

Very. I know and love each of my characters. They are my lovers, friends, and family.
5) Which comes first? The character’s story or the idea for the novel?
With Bare in Bermuda it all came together at once. I had Henna and Eduardo pop into my head in the same instant. Two people who are very different but looking for the same things and finding what was lacking in themselves in the other.
6) How did you come up with the title?
My editor Diana came up with the title. For some reason I just couldn’t find a title. I love the quirkiness of it. It reminds me of romance novels published back in the 80’s.
7) What do you love most about your characters?

They’re adults. They have lives, pasts, obligations, families… all of the things adults have.
They aren’t post-pubescents trying to figure out who they are. They’re fully matured adults trying to make sense of it all. As one reader put in a review, she likes that Henna doesn’t have it all figured out. Just because she’s hit thirty doesn’t mean her life has miraculously come together. She might have a job and a few wrinkles, but she
still has things she wants to do.
8) Are there certain themes you like to address in your writing?
Loneliness and companionship.
9) Did you always want to be an author? If not, what else would you have done?

I’ve always wanted to be a writer. Always. But I was raised by people that had very firm opinions about always having something to fall back on. I may not have seem the point behind this at the time, but I get it now. So I have a bill paying job while I’m
working towards supporting myself through my writing.
10) What is on the horizon for you? Any interesting news or books we should know about?
The follow up to Bare in Bermuda is coming soon. There will actually be about five books in the series by the time I’m done. Each one will focus on a different character. The next one up will be Sexy in San Francisco which tells of Henna’s friend Meadow’s affair with her extra hot secretary Tony. After that will come Passion in Portugal featuring fan favorite Simon. Originally Passion in Portugal was up first, but due to reader response I want to get a follow up out as soon as possible. Sexy in San Francisco is first draft done and ready to go to my editor.

Author Links
Livia Ellis Facebook Author page
https://www.facebook.com/authorliviaellis

Livia Ellis Amazon

http://www.amazon.com/Livia-Ellis/e/B0093XV43M/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1378588633&sr=1-2-ent
Livia Ellis
http://www.liviaellis.com/

 

Other Links

Smashwords 

https://www.smashwords.com/profile/view/liviaellis
Barnes and Noble
http://www.barnesandnoble.com/c/livia-ellis

3 thoughts on “Guest Blogger Livia Ellis!

Leave a Reply

