A Chat with Guest Author, Kara Griffin

Happy Saturday, everyone!

Today I’m uber-stoked to welcome my good pal and fellow historical author, Kara Griffin, to the purple couch. Kara entrances readers with Scottish romances full of intrigue, romance, and exciting action. (Sometimes she even tosses in a futuristic or two.) I’ve had the pleasure of being Kara’s crit partner and I’ve considered it a great honor! So now, without further ado, please join me in welcoming Kara to our little spot on the ‘net.

Thank you for joining us today, Kara. First off, please tell us about your latest release.

My latest release is One And Only, a Scottish historical which was released last fall. It’s the tale of a betrothal of two sweet children, who are separated but manage to find each other. I really enjoyed writing this one! I think most Scottish romance lovers will enjoy it.

And what’s up next? I’ve just finished On A Highland Hill, another Scottish historical that revisits the Gunn clan from One And Only. It’s the story of Kenneth McInnish, a warrior with a wounded soul and his lady who needs protection from a villainous chieftain and King Alexander. Kenneth and Elisa are definitely two characters you’ll want to meet.

You write in several genres. Which do you prefer?

My favorite is definitely historical, especially set in Scotland. From researching my novels, I’ve falling in love with that country. I don’t know how anyone wouldn’t. It’s mystical and history tells us how they’ve had to meet many challenges. Historicals are the perfect genre to weave a tale around.

Can you share your favorite work from each genre with us?

My favorite works always change to what I’m currently working on. But for historicals, I would have to say Claimed By A Charmer is my ultimate favorite. And from the sexy sci-fi’s I’ve written I would have to say Cosmic Chemistry. I just love Jack and Ginger, two of my all-time favorite characters.

You took a slight hiatus from writing. Do you feel that the break revitalized you? Has your writing changed in any way?

Unfortunately like most writers, I have to work a day job to pay the bills. Working such long days can put a damper on the creative muse. No matter what though, I don’t think I’ll ever stop writing. I may take a break from time to time, but I’m always thinking about it. I definitely get revitalized when I get back to writing. The last story I wrote was written in three weeks. I don’t think it’s changed because I still have my writer’s voice, but as with anything in life … You grow as you go along and that’s the same with writing. With each book, you grow to become better at your craft.

Like me, you suffered through the Triskelion fall-out. Did this event aid in convincing you to try your hand at self-pubbing?

That was such a hard thing for many authors to go through. But it also made us wiser and stronger writers in the process. I think it did eventually cause me to consider self-publishing. I like having control of my own destiny and self-publishing allows me to go at my own pace. How has self-pubbing differed from your experiences at your various publishing houses? I feel I’ve had more success because I can control the process and not have to answer or rely on others. I do miss the camaraderie with other authors I had at various publishing houses, but social media has certainly afforded the ability to still connect with many authors I’ve befriended and worked with over the years.

If you could change anything about one of your previous works, what would it be and why?

That’s a toughie because I feel the stories kind of tell themselves and although they can sometimes veer off in a direction not originally intended … I would have to say that Warrior’s Pledge was strictly a historical and I changed it to include a paranormal element at the request of my publisher. I regret making that change because the story was, in my opinion, fine as it was. Still, I did add a character to the story that readers seemed to enjoy. So it worked out well in the end.

Your daughter recently returned from a grand tour of Europe. If you could’ve joined her, what cities would’ve been on your “must see” list?

I’m so proud of daughter #2. She’s a bio, with concentration in ecology major. She was interning in a bio dept. in Greece. She went to the following cities while there: Heraklion, Rome, Venice, Barcelona, London, Edinburgh, Dublin, Amsterdam, Frankfurt and Zurich. Anyone who knows me knows the answer. It’s bolded! It’s Edinburgh of course.

Boxers or briefs? ; )

Briefs (looks much better/sexier on a man!) You get a better visual 😉

Out of all the smoking hot heroes you’ve created, who is your favorite and why?

Definitely Douglas Kerr from Claimed By A Charmer. I wouldn’t mind being his lady!

You’re a pro at creating daring, strong heroines. Which of your female characters do you feel is the most like you?

I’m totally bias here toward Claimed By A Charmer, and have to say Isabel Calvert. She’s a tough lady, and because of the time she lives in, has to hide her abilities. Men don’t like women who can throw daggers better than they can.

Please tell our readers where we can find out more about Kara Griffin.

Visit me on Facebook at: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Kara-Griffin/100129050040872?ref=hl

Website: http://karagrif66.wix.com/authorkaragriffin

I so appreciate being able to share my writings with readers. Thank you for having me!

Thanks so much for being with us today, Kara! I can’t wait to see what you have in store for your readers.

1428371More about Kara Griffin:

Reading is something I have always treasured. Books are essential to my happiness. As a writer, I want to enjoy the story as much as the reader. There’s nothing like a captivating story, whether you are taken to the past or catapulted to the future.  My favorite genres to write are Historical Romance (preferably Scottish love stories) and Science Fiction with its creative freedom.

As an author, wife, mother, friend…our roles define who we are. Yet there is always something more – a depth to us only a few get to see. Having a bit of mystery or secrets makes us interesting people. So I leave it to you to figure out who I am.

I also work for a book publicity firm and enjoy meeting and working with publicists and authors on a daily basis.  Readers, I would love to hear from you.

5 thoughts on “A Chat with Guest Author, Kara Griffin

  1. I’m so glad things are going well for you Kara – as for Scotland and indeed England there are so many places of historical interest and beauty in the British Isles – especially outside of the major cities.

    Like

  2. Thanks for joining us today Kara! I can definitely identify with the love of Scotland, and being a writer with a day job. It’s not always easy, and those books sure do stay in our heads, don’t they? LOL

    Like

  3. So glad you were able to drop by Kara. Always a joy talking with you! On a Highland Hill is an awesome read and I can’t wait to see more!

    Like

Leave a Reply

