Giving Thanks

For those of us in the US, it’s Thanksgiving day. While our ancestors ate venison and had no sugar (or ovens) for pies, I believe the meaning of the day remains the same today as it did then – except for the football, of course. 🙂

We are stronger when we stick together. Give thanks – not just today – but every day. Express kindness and compassion for your fellow man. Share the bounty of life with those around you. It seems so simple, doesn’t it?

Rome and I spending our day with friends. Our children are coming this weekend and I will be making a very non-traditional meal: fried rice. My kids love it, and request it every year – it is sort of a speciality in my kitchen. My kids have several places that require their attendance during the Thanksgiving holiday. The fried rice tradition was my way of ensuring they stopped at our house first (no shame in my game!). If they started with my fried rice, they could load up … and then be hungry a few hours later for a more traditional fare elsewhere. Genius, right?

What are your traditions? For those out of country – what are you doing today?

As we enter into the holiday season (and an insane shopping day Friday that I will be avoiding like the plague), I wish you all a very safe, very happy holiday.

Family, friends, readers – thank you. You all make my world a brighter place.

Much love,

Parker

3 thoughts on “Giving Thanks

  1. Um, my tradition I wrote a whole blog on over at Romantic Imperative (hint: it involves re-reading books in a certain futuristic police procedural series). Other than that, my hubby, son and I eat turkey breast and the fixings and stay home since it’s cold and we have nothing we need to shop for. Having worked retail at various times in my life, I avoid Black Friday like the plague – I do not have fond memories of working the day after Thanksgiving.

    However, this year son has made an unusual request– he needs a new desk chair (he is majoring in computer technology so he needs a good chair). He went out on Tuesday and sat in every chair Office Max, Staples, and Office Depot has – and the one he wants is on sale tomorrow at Office Max for $100 off — a tremendous savings and worth fighting the hordes for. So, guess where momma will be tomorrow? Yes, shopping for desk chair, because I really love my son.

    Like

Leave a Reply

