How You Can Help by Christy Gissendaner

Friday the 13th. Cool beans. Aren’t I lucky? Usually I have something witty and silly to say, but today I’m coming at you with a serious discussion on what you, as readers and friends, can do to help out us lowly authors.

With a recent release, I’ve spent countless hours at my computer blogging, posting, and pretty much haunting the social media sites. Why do I do this, you ask? It’s simple. I want to sell books. Yes, I know. Sales aren’t everything, but they are nice. A sort of monetary pat on the back, if you will.

With countless books under my belt, and the aforementioned countless hours spent promoting said books, there comes the times when I ask, “Is it worth it?” Are the hours away from my family worth the joy I get from being a published author?

I’m going to be completely honest here. My sales suck. I mean, literally, truly, horribly suck. How bad, you ask? I’m going to tell you. In one quarter, I sold 153 copies. 153 copies. 21 books available. I’ll let you do the math, keeping in mind that at least two of these books were brand new spanking releases coming in under 5 copies each. A book-selling machine I am not.

So why do publishers keep offering me contracts? Why waste their time with someone who probably hasn’t even made enough to pay the cover artist? I’m hoping it’s because they enjoy my writing, but it’s probably more along the lines of, “Nice gal, let’s just use her as filler space.” As a business-minded person myself, I wouldn’t blame them for not wanting to risk another chance with me. But maybe, just maybe, they see something in me and keep offering, waiting for the day (like I am) that I’ll finally have a hit.

So here’s where you come in. Yes, you. The visitors that come to our blog every day, even if you may not comment. Word of mouth is a powerful tool. It has rocketed more authors to the top of the lists than any paid advertisement will do. You, dear readers, have to power to make or break an author. All it takes is a kind review, a dropped word or two to your friends, a simple post on social media, and one sale can snowball into twenty, one hundred, hell even a thousand!

Have you read a book lately that you really, really liked? Did you tell anyone about it? Did you leave a review? I promise that’s all it takes. Five minutes of your time and you’ll make an author very happy. We write because we love it. We publish our works because we have faith others will love it too.

We’ve done our part, put our heart and souls on paper for all the world to see, and now it’s up to you. I challenge everyone who is a fan of Love, Lust, and Laptops to tell the world how awesome our authors are. It’ll be the best early Christmas gift you could give!

And don’t forget, any comment on the blog today will automatically be entered into my contest for the “Meet, Mate, and Be Merry” book tour celebrating the release of Unmasking the Wolf. You can find the tour line-up and book trailer at my website. The more you comment at any of the tour stops, the more chances you have to win a $10 Amazon gift card!

And, don’t forget, start spreading the word!

unmasking book tour

10 thoughts on “How You Can Help by Christy Gissendaner

  1. Sweetie, I know where you are coming from. I’ve been writing (and editing other writers) since 1995. My sales just began to increase in 2010. Do the math. 15 years.

    And during those 15 years I promoted, attended conferences, did whatever I could to get my name(s) out there. The best thing to do I was told to promote my books was “to write another book.” I did that. You’re doing that. No one that I have ever spoken to knows exactly why one book “hits” over another. It just happens.

    But for the majority of authors, it is hard work, perseverance, and writing good solid books.

    And when success (and that term is subjective by the way) happens — and for me it was my first SSI book, Eye of the Storm — then your entire back list is lifted. That’s when my sales and royalties took off. And I almost didn’t write that book, but the characters made me — and I’m glad I listened to my internal Muse(s). I’m still not selling tens of thousands of books, but I am selling far far better than my early years when I was lucky to sell 100 books a year.

    So keep writing books — and when that one “hits” — you’ll be very very happy to have that extensive back list to sell to your new readers.

    And, yes, dear readers of the LL&L blog – word of mouth and a kind word here and there helps all the LL&L authors. If nothing else fan love keeps us writing during the times we just want to chuck it all. Thank you in advance for supporting Christy and the rest of us.

    Like

  2. Christy,I’m humbled by your honesty, yet not surprised by it. You seem to be a very candid, tell it like it is kinda gal. And those are my favorite. I too lack sales but I’ve jumped in to write more and more. (And at times I wonder why.) As far as my fellow authors, I created the Hot List. Does it work? Eh…time will tell. Just write your heart out and I have a feeling one of these days, not too far off, your books will be discovered by droves of smart readers who love a good story. I’m hoping for the same.

    Like

    • Thanks for coming by, Cherrie! And yes, I do try to be honest. I debated on revealing my sales but I wanted to give an inside look at the lives of authors. And crossing fingers it happens for all of us!

      Like

    • Really, Allyson? (big grin) I’m always scared I come off like a novice, so thanks so much for the pat on the back! I must be honest and say I’ve had better quarters this year, but only by a few dozen copies. ; )

      Like

  3. Christy you know I am a fan and will do all I can to make sure the world learns about the sweet lovin’ delights you pen for us readers. 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

