Nana’s Spaghetti Carbonara via Gina Moretti

Morning, ya’ll! We’re going to do something a bit different this time. Instead of boring you to tears with the obvious book promo stuff, I’m stepping aside and letting the heroine of my latest work take over. Gina Moretti is the daughter of an alpha wolf and just like most Italian fathers out there, her father can be a bit overbearing. But she’s stepping out of her father’s shadow and coming to ya’ll straight from Boston, where she goes to escape her father’s rule.

            Take it away, Gina!

Thanks for having me, Christy. It’s always exciting to meet with new people and share a bit of my life with them. I’ve heard so much about the wonderful ladies of Love, Lust, and Laptops that I feel like we’re family already. When I’m not busy being hunted down by villains desperate to stop my mate’s research, I love to cook. It’s a little known secret. My mom learned how to make the best Italian food from my grandmother, who was a whiz in the kitchen. As a little girl, I remember sitting in my Nana’s kitchen and watching her make homemade pasta and sauce. Oh, the smells. Even now, I remember how the entire house resonated with the scents of Nana’s cooking.

Even though I’m not nearly as good a cook as my Nana, I do enjoy tossing together a meal now and again. My ultimate favorite is spaghetti carbonara. I still remember the first time I made it for Luke…but that’s another story. Keep reading for my uber-secret family recipe.

 

Moretti Family Spaghetti Cabonara – Nana’s Recipe

Ingredients:

1 package of spaghetti (Let’s keep it simple. No homemade pasta this time)

6 ozs uncooked bacon

2 ozs Pecorino cheese – freshly grated

1 tablespoon Extra Virgin olive oil

3 eggs yolks

1 whole egg

1 small onion – diced thinly

Ground pepper (to taste)

 

Instructions:

Whisk the eggs in a large bowl.

Gradually mix in the cheese. (Reserve some for topping if preferred)

Add pepper to the mixture.

Whisk until smooth and creamy.

Meanwhile, add oil to frying pan. Make sure it coats the entire bottom of the pan.

Add bacon to the pan and cook at medium heat.

After 1 minute, stir the bacon to cook both sides.

Once it browns, remove the pan from heat and empty the bacon into a bowl.

Begin cooking the spaghetti in a pot of boiling, salted water. (Per instructions on the package)

Cook onion in the frying pan until softened.

Remove pan from heat and add bacon to the onions.

Stir together.

Once spaghetti is cooked, drain it quickly (leave pasta a tiny bit wet) and add onions/bacon to the pot.

Stir quickly.

Add the egg mixture to the pot and stir for 20 seconds. (Be sure pot is not on hot eye of the stove. You don’t want to overcook the eggs. The heat from the pot itself is enough to warm it.)

Serve warm and garnish with remaining cheese.

Enjoy!

6 thoughts on “Nana’s Spaghetti Carbonara via Gina Moretti

Leave a Reply

