Cupid’s Arrow!

Cupids_Arrow-Jianne_Carlo-200x320optHow about beginning Merry Monday with a hot excerpt from my Valentine release — Cupid’s Arrow? Isn’t the cover drool-worthy? It’s all the work of the multi-talented Georgia Woods. I love the red nails and, as for that kissable chest—sigh.

Excerpt from Cupid’s Arrow:
Gawd, he had the most perfect smile. Suppose she messed this up again?

The boy-mischief-maker grin she loved faded. “What’s wrong? Why the frown?”

“Nothing,” she blurted. “Snowed by the famous Gallagher charm, I guess.”

What an asinine thing to say. If only she knew how to flirt.

He pressed his lips into a thin line. “It failed totally with you.”

She snorted. “As if.”

Geeze, the man shone brighter than the Florida sun when he flashed that uneven grin. “Really? I know you didn’t hate me at the beginning. But, after…I never could quite figure out what I’d done wrong.”

Her heart did a little jig against her ribs at Eli’s slight stammer and the grim lines bracketing his mouth. Eli? Insecure?

Stephanie felt for his hand and gave his fingers a little squeeze. She tiptoed, cupped a hand over his ear, and whispered, “It didn’t. Fail. The charm, I mean.”

For a brief moment their gazes met. He thumbed her knuckles and brushed his lips over them. The heat blazing between them consumed all the oxygen in her lungs. They didn’t speak another word until Eli helped her through the hotel’s revolving door.

A brisk wind tunneled up from the bay and whipped Stephanie’s hair against her cheeks. She craned her head back and sniffed the air. “It’s a nice change from Bradenton. The cooler temps here, I mean.”

She squeezed her eyes shut. Damn it. Would she ever be able to carry on a normal conversation with him?

“Steph?” He tipped her chin up, and she blinked him into focus. “You changing your mind? About us? About the second chance?”

She shook her head too choked up to formulate a vocal reply.

“What, then? Why are you looking so scared? Talk to me. Please?”

He looked about ready to explode. All bunched and hunched, his nostrils flaring like crazy. “Steph?”

“Nerves. Kind of wonder if I’m dreaming this. You could have any woman you want. I’m so not your type.” Omigod, had that stupidity really jumped out of her?

He wrapped a lock of her hair around his finger and held her gaze, direct and unflinching. “I’m crazy about you. Have been from the start. You blindsided me. I’ve never felt like this before. I have a couple pairs of sneakers hidden in my bottom desk drawer. I got Daphne in production to tell me your shoe size. My sisters funked them up for you. You know glued these crazy buttons and stuck glass beads on ‘em.”

“You bought me shoes?” Stephanie gaped as a deep blush stained Eli’s cheeks. She repeated his words in her head. “Wait. Your sisters know about me?”

“Nope. Yes. Fu—frick. Which one’s the right answer?” He wore a frantic, panicked expression.

A tidal wave of happiness welled in Stephanie’s chest and mushroomed through every inch of flesh. He had bought her shoes. Shoes. “The truth.”

“I bought you shoes. My sisters and my mom know about you.” He scuffed his handmade boots and scowled at the sidewalk.

Stephanie’s grin widened and she suspected that any moment her heart would leap right out of her mouth. “Say that again.”

“I’m crazy about you. It’s TMI, isn’t it? I’d promised myself to go slow. To not scare you—”

She flew at him and hurdled herself into his arms. “Shut up and kiss me, you big lug.”

He snagged her waist and squeezed her tight. “Yes ma’am.”

There, right there, on Nob Hill in front of a kazillion passersby, Eli kissed the stuffing out of Stephanie. He cupped her face between his warm calloused palms and his hot, amazing tongue sent electric shivers shooting from her scalp to her toes. No clumsy, frenzied lip locking, but a slow, leisurely sparking exploration of her mouth. She sagged into him lost in the wonder of his sensual stroking.

Here’s hoping the teaser started your day with a smile!

Cheers,

Jianne

6 thoughts on “Cupid’s Arrow!

Leave a Reply

