Grabbing the Bull by the Horns by Christy Gissendaner

A few days ago, the hubby and I got into a…conversation I suppose you could call it. We discussed the motto “It is what it is.” The hubby is quite fond of saying it. I told him I detest the slogan. No, it’s not what it is. It should be what you make it. Quite familiar with my determination and bullheadedness, the hubby decided to just let it slide.

Got me to thinking. How often do people accept what life throws out them and just shrug and sing Que Sera? Doesn’t work for this chick right here. When shit happens, I roll up my sleeves and figure out how to fix it. I’ve gotten bolder in recent months. I’ve become vocal about my career, earning not one but two promotions in the past year. I’m gearing up for a third, but that’s still in the works.  ; )

I’ve now turned my attention to my writing, which I’ll be the first to admit, has always been lackadaisical. I’m working on pinpointing my strengths and weaknesses…shout out to our very own Moni who is assisting me in this…and have now signed up for my biggest challenge yet. This May, I will be having my very first face-to-face with an editor at the RT convention.

For those who don’t know, I’m extremely shy around strangers almost to the point of having social paranoia. I can’t bear to look someone in the eye and I have a fear of my childhood speech impediment coming back to haunt me. To this day, I have to remember “Robot” not “Wobot”. I also have a bad mumbling habit. Throw in my Southern accent and you can understand my aversion of public speaking. I also have this tendency to get red-faced, so I’ll probably turn into a stuttering, mumbling tomato before it’s all over.

But what I do have going for me is a desire to achieve, a let’s-get-shit-done mentality, and a very strong work ethic combined with an overall likeability. Not to mention enthusiasm for my latest writing project. So this year I’m grabbing the bull by the horns…figuratively not literally (I’m not freaking crazy!)…and facing my biggest fear. As I told the other ladies of LL&L, even if I fail at least I can say I tried! But the acceptance of failure isn’t in my dictionary, so you know what happens next? I dust myself off, climb back onto that bull, and ride the hell outta it!

7 thoughts on “Grabbing the Bull by the Horns by Christy Gissendaner

  1. Christy good for you! I asked for the promotion but was shot down. But… you don’t get if you don’t ask, right? I think you’re right. It is what you make of it, but, I agree with hubby too re the things you cannot change. They are what they are 🙂 Good luck in your endeavors. Moni kicks editing arse!

    Like

  2. You go, girl. And you have lots of energy and a great imagination. You can’t teach energy or imagination. 😉 The rest is finding/polishing your voice and learning to self-edit. You’ll get there. I have confidence in you.

    And thanks for the shout out. *blushes*

    Like

  3. You go girl! I think its fantastic that you are finally pushing that awesomeness we all see onto the rest of the world – they won’t know what hit ’em but they will be glad it did.

    Like

Leave a Reply

