The reality of writer’s block

I know, I know, a craft post again, Vanessa? What, have you run out of things to write about?

Ah. There it is. I’ve got a cover I could show off, but I’m still not sure about title placement, so it isn’t final-final. I’ve got a release next month, but it’s a little early to be pimping that (ahem. It’s called High and Tight and you can preorder it basically anywhere). When it came time to write this blog post, I found myself inexplicably blocked.

So, yeah, you get me talking about craft stuff again, specifically writer’s block.

Some writers will tell you writer’s block doesn’t exist. Some will tell you to just write through it. Some will create bizarre movies featuring John Goodman running through a burning hotel hallway shouting “I’ll show you the life of the mind!” (Am I the only person who actually liked Barton Fink?)

I’m in the “write through it” camp. If you can’t write what your schedule, or your outline, or your best friend Liza is asking you to write… write something else. Write a blog post. Write a sex scene. Write a flash fiction piece. Write a grocery list. Write a creatively vague facebook status that will leave all your friends guessing whether or not you’re being held hostage in a Piggly Wiggly. (Okay, maybe don’t do that one…social media is a time suck the blocked writer does not need.)

You’ll find, as you start writing, the words start flowing. You can always fix them later. Just get the brain muscle moving.

Now excuse me, I think I need to go write a flash fiction piece about a pair of lovers held hostage in a Piggly Wiggly and how facebook saves their lives.

Writers, what’s your strategy for dealing with writer’s block?

 

7 thoughts on “The reality of writer’s block

  1. my strategy is to read other people’s books, complain about things on the internet, and drink lots and lots of alcohol.

    works like a charm.

    …but slowly.

    Like

  2. I have the greatest ideas when I’m in the shower. Whenever I get stuck, that’s the first place I go. If that isn’t enough, I cook. And cook. And shower. 🙂

    Like

  3. I dream what come’s next. But that means I need to recall what I dreamed when I wake up – sometimes I need to dream the same dream several times in a row before I recall it during the day.

    However, I think the drinking suggestion is a good one. 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

