London Calling by Cherie Nicholls

Hello! I’m back did ya miss me?

So as you know, I am the English arm of the Love, Lust and Laptops. What you might not know is that today, in the UK at least is St George’s Day. He is the patron saint of England.

You’ve all heard of St Patrick’s day in Ireland? Well there is St David’s Day for Wales and St Andrew’s day for Scotland. Yes we’re, currently, one giant country but we do like to do things our own way too. (Scotland are going for Independence, but that’s a whole other post)

So we each have our own patron saint. What does this mean to our daily lives? Not a lot really, most people won’t even know it’s St George’s Day until they see it on Facebook or Twitter or some random place. We don’t get a day off work or exchange presents or anything like that. It’s simply a day where, if you remember, you go…”hay I’m English!”

What interests me really is, do other countries have Patron Saints Days? Do you have special celebrations? Do people even notice when the day comes around?

You may also have noticed I’ve been missing the last few Wednesdays that I was meant to post, sorry about that but we’ve has some great guests in filling that spot I’m sure you’ll agree. Apart from work life getting in the way I have had some medical stuff to take care of….two words for you.. Oral Surgery….yes I still shudder at the thought of it!

I had my wisdom teeth out and ended up looking like the loser in a boxing match. It wasn’t pretty and to be honest I’m still recovered but it’s all getting there.

Of course that had to be literally three days before my birthday….yeah “perfect” timing right.

So now it’s back to being an IT Manager by day and an Author by night……I’m kinda like batman but without the gadgets, cape or crime fighting…. heh

Side note: IF you check the coming soon page on this blog you’ll see that several of us will be at the RT Convention in New Orleans in May! Come say hi! But remember I’m also the one that doesn’t do hugging…how about a friendly high-five instead?

Until Next time….remember…..Hugging…it’s not big and it’s not clever!

 

4 thoughts on “London Calling by Cherie Nicholls

  1. Welcome back, Cherie! We missed you and are glad you’re on the mend. Growing up in an Italian family, we celebrated lots of saint feast days so I’m down with St. George. And my English buddies, now Canadian citizens, still love throwing up St. George’s Cross. Have a wonderful day!

    Like

  2. Glad to hear you are back up to fighting weight. We in the US don’t have saint days – since we are sort of a melting pot of religions. 😉 But I am sure there are neighborhoods in larger communities that celebrate saint days. We have a huge Orthodox Greek Church not too far from my house, I am darn sue they have saint day celebrations.

    And I am so hugging you when I see you again – but not in NOLA at RT since I won’t be there, I’ll have Becca or Vanessa hug you for me. 🙂

    Like

  3. Glad you’re feeling better Cherie – it was a little quieter around here without you but LOTS of hugging going on… 😉

    *sigh* Knowing you will be there is one more reason to be sad I’m too broken to get to RT this year – but I swear SOMEDAY I AM GOING! We’ll have to co-ordinate another year. And you know I can’t promise no hugs! I know – do me a favor and give Becca a hug from me? 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

