In Memory Of

Today is mourningMemorial Day in the United States. The day we set aside to honor and thank those dedicated, courageous men and women who have died while protecting our country, our rights, and our freedom.

Our armed forces are second to none.

It’s a Sunday tradition for the dh and I to watch This Week with George Stephanopoulos. Toward the end of the show, the names of all those who died in service are listed on the screen. I make it a point to read each and every name and say a prayer for all of our fallen soldiers.

I am so pleased to tell you that during the last couple of months, we have gone three weeks in a row without a single name being listed.

We can honor those who’ve fallen and remember via social media. Post a blog, or a story on Facebook. Pin a quote about a loved one who’s no longer with youed on Pinterest – search on Memorial Day Quotes.

Share a Moment on Twitter – share a memory of a loved one who served in the military, your grandfather, great uncle, son, or husband: #USOMoments

In memory of those who’ve died serving this nation.

 Jianne

4 thoughts on “In Memory Of

  1. Great blog, Jianne! Just the other day, my mother and I pulled out my grandfather’s, great-uncle’s and great-grandfather’s war medals and shared them with my daughters. Their daddy was in the Navy for 8 years, as well, so I got to show them those. It was great to see how proud they were of their family.

    Like

  2. What a nice blog, Jianna. I think about my dad when I see the US flag we were given when he died. He never talked much but would occasionally say he’d been in a place that was on the news.
    My dad was in WWIi in the European theater. Mostly Italy.

    Like

  3. My Grandpa was a WWI vet and he was so proud of his service. He is buried at Fort Snelling National Cemetery and my Mom and I visit the graves (my Grandma is there with him), put flowers, and a flag on the grave and visit for a bit. Grandpa always told us we were very lucky to be living in the best country there is and to have our freedom.

    Like

Leave a Reply

