Summer and Sangrias by Emilia Mancini

It’s officially summer. Not that you’d know it if you happen to live in Iowa. The temp dropped about twenty degrees today as storms rolled through. I don’t mind the lower temperatures, but I sure could do without the thunder, lightening, and tornado warnings every ten minutes.

This too shall pass, and the sun will break through, dry up the rain (read: humidity), and it will start to feel like summer.

The best thing about summer? I know I should say vacations, family time, and relaxation, but honestly, the thing best thing about summer for me is sitting in the shade enjoying a nice cold sangria.

Does that make me shallow? I don’t care. Nothing feels better than kicking back with a fruity red wine drink to chase the stress away. Let the kids run, the hubby grill, and the bugs buzz. I’ll be over under the maple stretched out on my chaise drinking my cares away.

I’ve tried a few sangria recipes, but there is one I always fall back on. One that I just love and I’m going to share it with you in hopes that you’ll raise a glass and toast the nicer weather with me.

Sangria_,_my_favorite

What you’ll need:

2 large juice oranges, washed; one orange sliced; remaining orange juiced

1 large lemon, washed and sliced

1/4 cup granulated white sugar

1/4 cup Triple Sec

1 bottle medium-bodied red wine, chilled

 

What you’ll do:

1. Add sliced fruits and sugar to large pitcher and gently mash until some juices are released and sugar dissolves.

2. Stir in wine, orange juice, and Triple Sec

3. Refrigerate for at least 4 hours. The longer the better as the flavors blend more and smooth out.

4. Add ice and stir before serving.

 

Easy-peasy and super cheap. A great way to relax this summer and this recipe is easily doubled for a party or get together….or, you know…if you just need that much help relaxing in the summer. 😉

 

Hope everyone has a fantastic season filled with fun, family, friends, and sangrias!

One thought on “Summer and Sangrias by Emilia Mancini

Leave a Reply

