Celebrating Pride with LGBTQ book recs!

It’s June 25th, which means it’s the anniversary of the first time the Pride Flag flew in San Francisco in 1978. This week and this month, people the world over are celebrating Pride, so today I’m sharing some of my favorite books with queer characters and themes.

Photo by Ludovic Bertron This file is licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution 2.0 Generic license.

Perhaps one of the best-known (and for a reason–Isherwood’s elegant prose remains timeless 50 years later) works of gay fiction is Christopher Isherwood’s A Single Man. I don’t think I could write a recommendation list for gay fiction I love that didn’t start there.

I love stories with awesome lesbian characters, and I can think of none I love more than Kate Kane. Alexis Hall’s Iron & Velvet kicks off the wildly fun and funny paranormal mystery series about Kate and her adventures as a paranormal investigator, and the recently released Shadows & Dreams continues her story.

For science fiction lovers, I recommend Lisa Henry’s Dark Space (gay/bisexual), and Cathy Pegau’s Deep Deception (lesbian). And for fantasy lovers, Ginn Hale’s epic serial, The Rifter, which begins with The Shattered Gates.

For short fiction, I adore stories with a strong sense of place sketched in few words, atmospheric vignettes that stick with me long after I’ve read them. Two I recommend are Aleksandr Voinov’s Skybound, a historical set on a German airfield at the end of WWII, and Julio-Alexi Genao’s When You Were Pixels, a beautiful science fiction story set in a dystopian future.

Happy Pride!

Please share your recommendations in the comments, I’m always looking to add to my reading list!

 

 

One thought on “Celebrating Pride with LGBTQ book recs!

  1. Thanks for the recommendations, V. I was in San Fran once when they had a gay pride parade. It was colorful. 🙂 Since i live in the heartland, you’d think we wouldn’t be quite so “out”, but they had a marvelous Gay Pride parade in Indy a week or so ago– and it was wild. Looks like everyone had a good time, too. It was a day to celebrate since my city is not the most liberal in the U.S.

    Like

Leave a Reply

