The Feeding and Nurturing of an Author

Most of last week I attended the RWA National Conference in San Antonio, Texas which was a GREAT conference for me. It’s true that I am a newly published Romance author with my debut book, Explosive Combination, reaching the public just five months ago, but I am also an advocate of lifelong learning.

RWA14

RWA14 was an Outstanding Conference

I attended as many workshops as I could possibly fit in and learned so much from brilliant women who have been in this industry for years. Since I plan to write a novella (or two) before the end of the year, I attended the workshop taught by Eloisa James, Connie Brockway and Julia Quinn. I have pages of notes.

Jayne Ann Krentz led a wonderful workshop on social media, then I got some awesome book promotional ideas from Laura Kaye. Elizabeth Hoyt taught me more about heroes just before Susan Elizabeth Phillips explained the intricacies of character development. The whole conference was filled with New York Times bestselling authors sharing their knowledge of the craft to help the rest of us be better writers. I have a legal pad filled with scribbled information that I hope to decipher this week.  For me, the experience of romance writing greats sharing their years of hard-earned experience with me (and the two-thousand other romance writers) was food for my brain and a stimulant for my career growth.

I also had the pleasure of meeting fellow LL&L bloggers Lynn Lorenz and Parker Kincade! Thanks ladies for taking time from your busy schedule to meet up with me.

With all the workshops and meetings, I still had time to catch up with several other author friends from all over the US and Canada. While waiting for a friend in the lobby, I made a whole slew of new acquaintances. Romance authors are the friendliest women imaginable.

It was nearly midnight on Sunday when I finally made it home. My brain had been fed by experts and my writer’s soul had been nurtured by friendship. Good conference!

One of the best things about the RWA conference is all the books you receive. Comment here and you’ll be automatically entered to win one of the books from the conference.

One last thing…The Ladies of Love, Lust, and Laptops have a surprise for you. Be sure to stop in on Friday for details.

6 thoughts on “The Feeding and Nurturing of an Author

    • I’ll share, I promise, but there was so much! And yes, I found a package filled with purple and red notes…and slashes. I’m going to concentrate and hopefully finish my Romantic Suspense about a Christmastime treasure hunt for golden Mayan statues then I’ll tackle all your suggestions with a clear mind. 🙂

      Like

  1. That is the great thing about going to any conference. You gain so much information and are able to meet up with a lot of like-minded people.

    Like

Leave a Reply

