B-I-N-G-O

As the “gambler” in our little group, I was excited when Emilia Mancini came up with the idea for a Love, Lust, and Laptop Bingo. As a little girl, I played bingo with my grandfather at the local volunteer fire department. And before you ask, no there were no sexy firemen for me to look at. Just elderly men who loved to call out the numbers. Playing bingo with my Pop is one of my fondest memories from childhood and I love being able to share that love with all of ya’ll.

This past Saturday, I actually went down memory lane and attended a game at the fire department. Sadly, I didn’t win, but I enjoyed the time I spent there. As a bonus, when my elementary school closed, all of our library books were placed in the bingo hall and I passed the minutes scanning the spines for familiar titles.
At school, I quite possibly held the title for the fastest reader and most books checked out during those nine years. I still recall my fourth grade teacher being amazed by the literature I was reading. Little Women was a particular favorite of mine, along with The Boxcar Children, The Babysitters Club, and Nancy Drew mysteries. I wanted so badly to get up and scan the titles more closely and see if the library cards were still inside so I can see my childish scrawl, but didn’t have enough time to do so. No biggie, I can go back this Saturday night!

My love of reading was instilled at a young age. My mom claims it’s because she read to me every night when I was a baby. I don’t recall that, but I do remember my grandmother gave me my love of romance novels. Harlequins were her favorite and I would read them over and over again. There I was, nine or ten years old reading about sheiks and princes and dashing pirates. Good times! My grandmother now suffers from dementia, but she continues to hold a book in her hand most days and will scan her fingernail along the words as if she’s reading. My old paperbacks end up in shreds, but I consider it a fair investment for all the novels of hers I snitched when I was a kid.

So thank you, Emilia, for shining a light on something that I hold the utmost respect for and has brought me hours of enjoyment for decades. And thank you, readers, for joining us on this journey!

Don’t forget to pick up your bingo card if you haven’t already. I’ll leave you with a bingo joke that never fails to crack me up….What’s the quickest way to make an old lady curse? Have another little old lady yell “BINGO”!!!

Bingo

3 thoughts on “B-I-N-G-O

  1. Hey, Robin. Lovely memories of bingo. Our family used to go to street fairs in northern Indiana. And there was always a Bingo tent. My dad and I would play multiple cards. I recall one prize we won were a set of Calypso Dancer Lamps. My dad loved them.

    Like

Leave a Reply

