Work In Progress and The Next BINGO Clue

As with most authors, I am on deadline.

Girard Quad

THIS WAS MY INSPIRATION FOR THE QUAD LOOKING OUT FROM THE SECOND OR THIRD FLOOR OF THE HOUSE TOWARD THE CARIBBEAN SEA. IN MY STORY, THE THATCHED ROOF ON THE LEFT COVERS TWO BEDROOMS. TWO, MORE BEDROOMS, WHERE A LOT OF ACTION TAKES PLACE, ARE IN THE MAIN HOUSE ON THE LOWER LEVEL. OFF TO THE RIGHT IS THE SIX-CAR GARAGE.

This one is self-imposed. At the beginning of the year, I created a business plan and set specific goals for 2014.

My next goal is to publish a Christmas novel which should have been completed by the end of July, according to The Plan.

Life happened and the story didn’t. Well, that’s not exactly accurate. I was extremely busy with family obligations in July, but I did write almost every day.

The story happened, and it happened, and more of it happened. I just hadn’t reached the end when planned. What I had hoped would be about 55,000 words didn’t work out that way.

Pool house

JACK’S RECENTLY-DIVORCED SISTER AND TWO BOYS ARE STAYING IN THE POOL HOUSE IN A CANCUN CHRISTMAS. IT PROVIDES PLENTY OF SHADE FOR MY HEROINE’S TWO-YEAR-OLD BLONDE DAUGHTER, ADDISON, TO PLAY OUTSIDE YET KEEP HER SENSITIVE SKIN OUT OF THE INTENSE CARIBBEAN SUN.

When I reached 40,000, my hero and heroine were finally having sex, but there was a lot more to the story yet to be told.

I’m currently at 57,000 and it’s moving along well. I figure I’ll finish somewhere around 75-80,000 words by the first week in September.

long sandy hair

MEET JACK GIRARD, MY HERO. HE’S A FORMER SEAL WHO NOW OWNS BAD ASS CATAMARANS WHICH TAKES CRUISE SHIP GUESTS SNORKELING OR SCUBA DIVING ON THE REEFS AROUND ISLA MUJERES, THE ISLE OF WOMEN, JUST OFF CANCUN.

For today’s blog I thought I’d share some visuals with you that I used when writing A Cancun Christmas. It’s a working title and has changed several times already, but goes with the next in this series, A Cancun Crisis.

Stay tuned for more updates on my work in progress.

 

Playing BINGO with us? The next winner receives an eBook copy of Explosive Combination, my most recent release. Here’s today’s clue:

predators refuge

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Work In Progress and The Next BINGO Clue

  1. I’m with Monette. Navy SEAL here I am. Isn’t it wonderful how characters keep telling you, “But I’m not done yet. My story isn’t over. And what fun it is. Loved reading the blog.
    Teresa

    Like

Leave a Reply

