Collecting Romance Books and Another Bingo Clue

Hot ZoneOne of my all-time favorite authors has another book out.  Jayne Ann Krentz (and all her pen names) is a must-buy, must-read author for me.  Always has been and always will be.  [See her new book to the left – I just received mine on Tuesday and am saving it for the weekend and uninterrupted reading time!]

And as it is usual with my favorite, go-to authors, I must have all her back list on my shelves so I can re-read her earlier books at my leisure.  Now, JAK has written a lot of books since she was first published in 1980.

Her pen names include Jayne Ann Krentz, Jayne Castle, Amanda Quick, Jayne Bentley, Jayne Taylor, Amanda Glass, and Stephanie James.

I own all of her books, under all her names, but 6 books.  Yes, all of them but 6.  The six I am missing are four of her Jayne Bentley books (A Moment Past Midnight, 1980; Maiden of the Morning, 1980; Hired Husband, 1981; and Sabrina’s Scheme, 1981) and two of her Jayne Castle books (Queen of Hearts, 1980, and Vintage of Surrender, 1980).

Sometime in the mid-1990s, I made it my goal to own everything she has ever written — and the only reason I don’t have those last few is scarcity and, when available, cost.  I do have some of her very early books in the original paperbacks that now cost a bundle, but I found them in small town used bookstores, the Goodwill, or through the kindness of my fellow book-a-holics. 🙂

My aspiration as an author — is to be like Jayne.  I hope for a long writing career.  I would also love to have fans who’d like to own all my books –probably the highest compliment any fan can give an author.

So, Jayne Ann Krentz, if you read this, please know, I LOVE your writing.  You have given me many enjoyable hours. Thank you.

BTW, I also have extensive collections of  JD Robb’s In Death series (ALL of them and I re-read the books every year beginning on Thanksgiving Day), Elizabeth Lowell, Donna Leon, Elizabeth Peters, Mary Stewart, and Kay Hooper. Yes, I am a book-a-holic. And, yes, I have a lot of bookshelves.

Now, please share any authors you collect religiously. Maybe I can find a new author to whom I can become addicted. 😉

Here’s the next Bingo Clue – this is to win a download of KaLyn Cooper’s Explosive Combination! Since this is KaLyn’s first book, you can start your book collection of her books from the very beginning.

Bingo Clue 2

5 thoughts on “Collecting Romance Books and Another Bingo Clue

  1. My “must buy” authors are Elizabeth Lowell (wish I could write like her/them), J.D. Robb (have to keep up with Roark and Eve), Janet Evanovich (Go Team Ranger!), Nora Roberts (the queen herself), Lori Foster (reading her new Fight Club series), Maya Banks (KGI series only – I don’t care for the rest), and the list goes on.

    If you haven’t tried them, consider Marie Force (esp. her Fatal series), Linda Castillo (interesting Amish/police series), Janice Maynard (a good friend), Deborah Grace Staley (another good friend) and my crit partner, Teresa Reasor (she writes SEALs and is a military brat), and of course Monette Michaels :).

    I’m definitely into Romantic Suspense, police type, and veterans. Huh.

    Like

  2. If you haven’t tried then read the Rescue Me series by Kallypso Masters, about 3 service men dealing with the aftermath of war and the women who get them through. I too collect certain authors. I had all but 6 Betty Neels books ( the books take me back to a more gentler time in the world of writing) but we had a flood in the basement and lost most of them. I had all the Stephanie Laurens book and a few other historicals , then my husband gave me an e-reader and the world changed !!!

    Like

    • I have read some of Kallypso’s books. 🙂 And I adored Betty Neels and I think I must have read them all, but I didn’t keep them — I passed them on to my cousin to read. And I also have all of Stephanie Laurens’ books and re-read them from time to time. The early Cynster books are still my fave beginning with Devil’s Bride – thought I am liking Barnaby Adair’s casebooks including the shorts she has done for e-book only. Thanks for chiming in, Barb.

      Like

  3. Linda Howard is similar to Elizabeth Lowell/Kay Hooper and may be of interest to you.
    Have you read any of Elizabeth Peter’s books? Some of her are murder/mystery types, some are more historical mystery/romance.

    Like

Leave a Reply

