Fall Madness and a Wedding

Happy Thursday my darlings! I love the fall. You know what I love best?

© dusk - Fotolia.com

© dusk – Fotolia.com

PUMPKIN!

That’s right, I’m one of those people. I buy pumpkin in bulk during the winter months, just to have it on hand in case I get a craving for something orange-ly delicious in the summer. (Yes, I’m aware orange-ly isn’t a legitimate word. But it works, right?).

 

Pumpkin pie, pumpkin cookies, pumpkin custard (are you seeing a pattern here?), pumpkin bread, pumpkin muffins, pumpkin latte … I’m starting to sound like that dude from Forrest Gump.

I shouldn’t discriminate against the other varieties of winter squash. The truth is, I love them all. My current favorite is the sweet dumpling squash. I like to carve out the top and clean out the insides (as you would a Halloween pumpkin – which is NOT a cooking/eating pumpkin). Then, I fill it 3/4 full with chicken broth. Replace the top and pop it in a 375 degree oven for an hour or so (until tender). Here’s the best part. Once I pull it out of the oven, I remove the top and spoon in 3 tablespoons of couscous. Replace the top and wait 5 minutes and voila! Dinner!

I wish I could take credit for this delicious way of preparing the sweet dumpling squash, but the credit goes to a male friend of mine who loves to cook. You know who you are. 🙂

This fall also brings the wedding of Gavin Mathis and Lauren Delgado to Shadow Maverick Ranch! And you are all invited! Mark your calendars – for $0.99, this is one event you won’t want to miss!

WCW SAVE THE DATE

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

ParkerKincade_WhiteCollarWedding_HR

 

White Collar Wedding is an Amazon exclusive, bonus short story from the Shadow Maverick Ranch Novella series. Thank you to all the readers who requested this story. I’m thrilled to share Gavin and Lauren’s day (and night) with you. Available November 18th for the low price of $0.99!

 

 

 

Do you have any favorite pumpkin recipes? What are your favorite things about the fall?

Until next time,

~Parker

7 thoughts on “Fall Madness and a Wedding

  1. I love all things pumpkin, too. Pumpkin pancakes are wonderful and Trader Joe’s has a great mix. Pumpkin pie dessert (make the pumpkin like you would for a pie, top with a cake mix and pecans, coat with butter and voila).

    Like

  2. My whole grain pumpkin bread is loved by one and all (well, those who get t eat it – it doesn’t last long in our house). Love pumpkin. A local confectionary has pumpkin mousse shooters – yum. And yay on the wedding short. I’m so there.

    Like

Leave a Reply

