That Sinking Feeling…Wahoo! A Submarine Ride

120xWe just returned from the annual family vacation, celebrating Christmas early with Macho Marine’s side. They always choose a warm climate.

600x900christmasincancun

Christmas in Cancun is now available wherever eBooks are sold and in paperback from Amazon

Unlike the last several years, we did NOT go to Cancun. And in case you were wondering, those vacations were the impetus to write Christmas in Cancun which is now available most everywhere books are sold.

This year we cruised the Southern Caribbean. Look for Captivated in Cancun in 2015. Lilly’s story will take you into the world of human trafficking via cruise ships. Are you seeing a pattern here?

When on a cruise, there are excursions you can take in every port. I’ve always wanted to dive deep, but that becomes very complicated using SCUBA gear, so when I saw the opportunity to take a ride in a submarine, I jumped on it. Literally.

For Macho Marine, it was no big deal. As a graduate of the United States Naval Academy, he’d spent time in a “real” sub before deciding big gray boats weren’t as exciting as being a Marine. But for this woman, who at one time had dreamed of exploring the ocean’s bottom as a career, it was AWESOME!

sub 1Through the large portals on both sides, you could see so much. Purple fan coral three-feet in diameter swayed in the current. Tubular, lime-green sponges shot straight up from the sandy floor. Whips of black coral six-feet long stretched to reach the surface far above. sub 2Yellow and red brain coral the size of an ottoman sat unaffected as the 48-passenger sub passed by. A school of juvenile, yellow tail fish, twelve to twenty inches, long circled us as we slowly we descended to 148 feet below the surface. The further we went down, the more sparse the life. It became an undersea desert of white sand, and a shipwreck. sub 3The vessel had been scuttled several years ago as part of reef-building, but it was still cool.

As an author, I want readers to feel like they are with Rafe and Harper (Explosive Combination) running through the dense, humid jungle in Colombia, and snorkeling on the colorful reef to see the underwater Virgin Mary with Jack and Jillian (Christmas in Cancun). Maybe someday I’ll write a book about a submarine.

2014-11-14 14.38.03I want to hear from you – If for Christmas, someone gave you the trip of a lifetime, you could go anywhere in the world, all expenses paid, where would you go? What would you do? Tell me about your dream vacation and you’ll be entered to win the Christmas in Cancun promotion diamond earrings.

10 thoughts on “That Sinking Feeling…Wahoo! A Submarine Ride

    • Italy is on my bucket list. Made it to several other European countries but not Italy…yet. 🙂

      Thanks for commenting. You are entered for the diamond earrings! Please consider commenting on my other blogs for additional entries. 🙂

      Like

  1. My dream Xmas vacay would be London. Yes, indeed. I want to be immersed in that gray, rainy weather. LOL Hubs and I have always longed to visit London (our fave vacation spot) at the holidays. To be able to shop at Harrod’s, sit in a decorated pub, and maybe even visit a Xmas market, would be wonderful. Wet, but wonderful. 🙂 I’m so glad you had a nice time, KaLyn.

    Like

  2. We dove the sea wall in the Caymans in a submarine — loved it. Since I am not allowed to scuba dive because of two spontaneous pneumothorax incidences in my 20s, I can only see underwater scenery in this way. I do snorkel, but it isn’t the same. Good thing I went into law and not submarine geology as I wanted, huh?

    Dream vacation? Staying at home. Alone. All you mothers and wives out there will understand that sentiment. 😉 If I can’t do that, then a nice cozy cabin (preferably on a private island) in the UP of Michigan on a pleasant summer day. Nowhere to go or do things — just lying around, relaxing and enjoying books and nature. To me a vacation is all about relaxation.

    Like

  3. Those subs are amazing, aren’t they? Sorry to hear about SCUBA diving. Bummer!

    UP is a little too cold for this transplanted, proud-to-call-myself Southerner now. As for the alone time, I agree. But I’d like someone to come in and cook and clean for me, too. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

