Beginnings and Endings

Having the last LL&L blog of 2014 has made me very reflective, and excitedly hopeful at the same time.

It’s been one hell of a year for me!

ExplosiveCobination150x200

Explosive Combination was my debut novel. This Contemporary Romantic Suspense begins with a kidnapping and ends with a rescue…and a happily ever after, of course. You will see Harper and Rafe again in my new Black Swan series. Get Explosive Combination NOW on SALE for 25% OFF. Click on cover.

I published my first novel in March! Wahoo. The process to hold Explosive Combination in my hands was a learning experience, to say the least. I went through so many rounds of edits, before and after submission and contract, that I got tired of my own story. Who would have thought? Every published author I know. I am so thankful to know several. If it weren’t for LL&L’s wonderful Monette Michaels, who graciously agreed to critique (aka massively edit) Explosive Combination, it never would have seen ink on the page.

23526697

Christmas in Cancun is the first book in the Cancun series. Look for Conquered in Cancun, a novella, soon followed by Captivated in Cancun and Crisis in Cancun. Christmas in Cancun is on SALE at 25% OFF through Jan 15. Click ion the cover.

In December my second book, Christmas in Cancun was published. I was much more prepared for that one. As the first in a new series, you’ll see those characters again soon.

My 2014 business plan called for more, but I seem to have gotten behind. Or I set my goals beyond my personal reach. I was supposed to put out three novels and a short story. Well, that third novel is 125,000 words. Just this past week I decided that it needs to be two books, and desperately requires more editing. As for the short story, now a novella, it will be published early next year.

So as I look at 2015, I’ve reworked my 1-, 3-, and 5-year business plans. The Black Swan series gets kicked to the front burner immediately after I turn in Conquered in Cancun, the short story that grew into a novella. The second book, Captivated in Cancun, will absolutely see the printed page next year, but no promises on Crisis in Cancun. There might be a short story in that series next fall, which knowing I have a problem writing short will most likely become another novella.

Sounds like a plan to me. Now if I can only meet my own expectations.

I’m also revamping my conference schedule and cutting back. I’ll be at Lori Foster’s Reader Author Get Together in Cincinnati in June teaching a workshop or two in the Liquid Silver Boardroom, and playing a few games with readers. I plan to attend the RWA National Conference in July in New York City. After that, I’m not sure about the rest of the year.

2014-11-14 14.38.03

Last chance to enter the contest for these beautiful Diamond Earrings!

Being the last day of the year, this is also your last chance to comment and enter the contest for the diamond earrings.

Tell me your plans for 2015.

7 thoughts on “Beginnings and Endings

  1. Love you so much, KaLyn. You took all my suggestions, pulled up your big girl panties, and persevered — and that is what this writing business is all about. Writing is not for wussies – and you my dear, have nerves of steel and a gut-burning desire to succeed. So, I know you will meet all your goals. Just pace yourself. You, my lovely, do not write short — accept it and move on. 🙂

    My goals? Write, write, attend three conferences, and write some more. Happy New Year!!

    Like

  2. Going to finish some writing. My mom has been ill this last year and my sister and I are taking care of her so they got pushed to the back burner. I think that I have a routine so can get what has been simmering onto paper now, I hope.

    Like

    • So sorry to hear about your Mom, Zanna. Use all those feelings you have. They will make a GREAT heroine! Write everything you feel down in a journal, every day. Those upset stomachs from feeling inadequate, the tired-to-the-bone and knowing you’ll do it all again tomorrow, the empathy you have for your mother, those are what make our heroines remembered long after the last page is written because every woman shares those feelings at some time in our lives.

      I applaud you for what you are doing! Stay strong. Keep writing. Keep reading. You CAN do this!

      Like

  3. I am always looking for a new to me author to read. Thx to Monette Michaels for suggesting I check out your books. I love Monette and her books so I believe in her recommendations. I am a reader not a writer, my goal is to read as many books as possible in 2015 and attend 2 or 3 conferences. I combine mystery and romance for my two favorite genres, so Killer Nashville and Bouchercon 2015 are for sure, hope to go to Lori fosters RAGT. Happy New Year,

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I really enjoy her books as well. Maybe Monette and I will see you at Lori Foster’s. That would be so wonderful. 🙂 If you are interested in writing reviews, I can hook you up with more books than you can read. Hope to meet you in June at Lori Foster’s RAGT.

    Like

Leave a Reply

