Big plans for 2015!

It’s a whole new year, guys. Out with the old, in with the new and all that.

10906515_10205596652978586_6692237073097622360_n

 

I’m starting 2015 with a huge change for my career path. I’ve been wearing a lot of hats for a long time. This is the year I take off one or two so I can focus on rocking the right ones.

I’ve resigned my position as features writer with a local magazine publisher. My days in journalism are done (at least for now). I’ll still be editing and writing, but my feet are solely on the side of book publishing now, and while I’m sad to back away from writing about the local people and their lives, I’m excited about my plans for the year.

What does all this mean for you? A lot, I hope!

20625159There have been requests for a sequel to Seducing Kate, including a plea from my editor. I have to agree; Kate and Kyle are great characters. I’ve started working on the second part of their story, but there’s quite a way to go before it will be ready. If all goes well, I’m hoping to see this coming out sometime toward the end of 2015.

I have a few shorter stories in the works as well. I haven’t quite determined how those will come about, but you will see some new things from me in the next year.

For my Marci pen, there’s a bit more going on there.

I pulled The Messenger from my previous publisher and it will be edited and re-released through another in 2015. I’m really looking forward to that. It wasn’t that my other publisher was bad, I just felt like the book never got the love she needed, so I took her home to my primary publisher where she was welcomed with open arms. My editor has some things she wants to work on to polish it up a bit more and I agree.

I have one contemporary romance ready to go as soon as I find the right home for it, but it is currently sitting on the shelf for one final edit before I push too hard for that to happen. Along with that, I’m nearly finished with a second contemp. I am debating if those will be tied together to start a series.

Between tying these together and doing a sequel for Kate, I’ll be dipping my toes into the series pool for the first time. I find that a bit intimidating. I don’t want to ruin a good thing by coming back with a second book that isn’t quite as strong, but I’m just going to put on my itty-bitty bikini, pinch my nose, and jump in.

I’m also looking at attending at least one conference this year. This may not seem like a lot, but I’ve never been to one as a writer, only as an editor. I vowed long ago that I wouldn’t attend a writer conference until my writing could pay for it, so the fact that this is the year, is very exciting for me. Once I confirm, I’ll let you know when and where.

At some point, soon I hope, I’m going to take some time to redesign my website. Yup. That’s been on the to-do list for some time. But the most important thing, I’ve already taken steps to reduce my stress which will open me up to more time for writing.

So that’s all kind of vague, but I don’t want to make promises I can’t keep. I do promise, however, you’ll have some sweet and spicy from me this year, and I couldn’t be happier to be giving it to you.

Happy New Year, everyone! Thanks for making 2014 so wonderful! I can’t wait to see what we get into in 2015!

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Big plans for 2015!

Leave a Reply

