A series is born!

Okay, I think it’s safe to say, as far as my publishing experience goes, I’m a tad bit behind my LL&L counterparts. I’ve been busy getting my education on the last few years. But I’m slowly starting to catch up.

I’m about to venture into my very first ::gasp:: self-publishing venture. I know many of my fellow authors have done this a hundred times and don’t think twice about jumping in, but me…little ‘ol me?…I’ve always had the safety net of a publisher to fall back on. There is absolutely no doubt I’m going to whine, cry, drink…wait, I do that every day. Anyway, one of the best parts of our little literary orgy is that we offer up a great amount of support…which I will likely mooch off well beyond good manners allow. (Whoops! I don’t think I’ve told the girls that part of my plan…)

Any of you who follow me on Facebook know that I kind of disappear when I’m deep into a book. And, boy, have I ever been deep in it! This book I just finished writing, the first in the series, has drained me emotionally. I’ve determined that when I’m writing for my pen, Marci Boudreaux, no book is complete without a good bout or two of ugly crying. You know ugly crying…when your face scrunches up, snot threatens to bubble out your nostrils, and drool is on the verge of sliding down your chin right before you realize it and gulp it back down between heaving sobs.

Book two also did this to me, but it was the first book I wrote before realizing I was going to make this a series. And why did I make it a series? Because my editor, who sent me a picture of her ugly crying in the airport while working on the book, insisted it was good enough to be so.

After pondering for some time, I created this little fictional town called Stonehill, Iowa. It’s a suburb of Des Moines since book two plays out in that area.  Apparently in Stonehill everyone has a broken heart that needs mending. And I’m really looking forward to doing that. Probably with a lot more ugly crying.

I have three releases scheduled for this year and two already planned out for 2016. I’m very excited about this venture and I hope you all enjoy it as much as I know I will! Here’s a little sneaky peeky:

series banner

 In Stonehill, every heart deserves a second chance.

The Road Leads Back – Coming April 3, 2015The Road Leads Back_FINAL

Kara Martinson and Harry Canton weren’t exactly high school sweethearts, but they did share one night neither will ever forget. Twenty-seven years later, Harry surprises Kara at an art gallery opening and discovers he left her with more than just memories when he went away to college. Desperate to connect with the family he never knew existed, Harry convinces his son to move to Stonehill—and pleads with Kara to come, too.

Kara hasn’t stepped foot in their hometown since the day she was sent away to a home for unwed mothers. Now Harry’s back in her life and as they put together the pieces of his parents’ betrayal, old heartaches start to feel anew. She wants to be near her family, but returning to Iowa means facing some things…and some people…she isn’t quite ready to.

Can Harry convince her to forgive the past so they can embrace the future they were robbed of so long ago or will the pain of the past be too much for Kara to overcome?

 

Friends Without Benefits – Coming July 10, 2015Friends Without Benefits_FINAL

Dianna Friedman never expected her husband to leave her. Who does? But she’s making the most of what she has left–a sarcastic near-grown son, a boss who more than crosses the lines of appropriate behavior, and a mountain of bills that just keeps growing. She’s in over her head, but she is determined to survive.

She’s doing okay, even if she does spend most of her life watching TV in yoga pants and ignoring her best friend’s unwanted advice. When Paul O’Connell knocks on her door and asks her to testify against his wife/her husband’s mistress, Dianna begrudgingly agrees.

Dianna and Paul become fast friends and maybe a tad bit over-dependent on each other, but who are they hurting? No one. At least not until Dianna’s life takes yet another unexpected twist and she and Paul have to step back and reevaluate everything…including  what they mean to each other.

The Forgotten Path – Coming October 16, 2015The Forgotten Road_FINAL

No one has ever accused Annie O’Connell of backing down from a challenge. She’s tough as nails and that’s what everyone has come to expect from her. But even the strongest of people need someone sometime.

Marcus Allen has loved Annie for as long as he’s been working at O’Connell Realty. They toyed with dating once, but Annie is more than gun shy when it comes to relationships. Even so, Marcus would stand by her through thick, thin, and everything in between. If only she’d let him.

When tragedy strikes and Annie is left feeling vulnerable, Marcus does everything in his power to make all right in her world again. He just hopes it’s enough to finally break through the walls Annie has has build around her heart.

 

8 thoughts on “A series is born!

Leave a Reply

