It’s Convention Time!

rtbooklovers-150x82Yes, that is where I’ll be next week, May 12 -17, in Dallas, Texas.

I don’t go to the RT convention every year — mostly because it takes too much time away from life and my writing schedule.

It’s only a week, you say?  Well, nope, it’s not really. I have been preparing for this convention for most of this year — in between hubby’s open heart surgery, moving son to his new job, and trying to finish SSI 4.  This entails swag bags, promo items, coordinating with booksellers and panel assignments — and then, last but not least, the pre-con beautification rituals so I don’t look like a hag. It’s okay to look like a hag while sitting in front of the computer, but not when meeting the public.

Also, this year I am flying.  So, I am dealing with pre-flight jitters; they began a month ago. I’m leaving my broom at home and flying Southwest Airlines into Love Field on the 12th.  So, please pray for clear, non-tornadic, non-wind-sheer weather. I am not a good flyer.  I haven’t been on a plane since October of 2008.

I am on two panels this year. Oddly enough they are both on Wednesday afternoon. One is science fiction romance and the other is romsuspense.  I am also a table captain for Linnea Sinclair’s Intergalactic Bar and Grille on Friday afternoon.  Then I will be in the Giant Booksigning on Saturday and will make an appearance Saturday night at the FANtastic Day Party.

Here is my schedule:  Monette Michaels Events

After I return, I won’t be home for long since I will turn around and drive to Cincinnati for Lori Foster’s RAGT convention from June 4-7.  Driving is good.  🙂  I will be hostessing along with my fellow Liquid Silver Books authors – Eve Langlais, KaLyn Cooper, Wendi Zwaduk, Kelli Evans, Maddy Barone, and Lynne Rae.  We’ll have all sorts of fun and games in the room.  The biggest game will be the Charmed Author Hunt.  The first two hundred attendees who visit the LSB Board Room on Friday morning, June 5th, will receive a bangle bracelet and an instruction card  for hunting down all seven LSB Charming authors to complete a bracelet.  Once the bracelet is completed, the owner of the bracelet can then come to the room, show they have been “charmed,” and get an entry for a drawing.

charm bracelet less beadsThis is the picture of what the finished bracelet will look like.

So, if you are already registered for Lori’s RAGT– please remember to get to the LSB boardroom early to play the game.  Of course, this is not the only game, so be sure to check the print program.

I will be signing Friday, June 5th, 3-5 PM, at the Cincinnati Marriott, West Chester, Ohio.  This signing is OPEN TO THE PUBLIC.  So, if you live in the Cincy area, come see me. I will have all of my current SSI and Prime books there in print.  My current WIP, Storm Warning will not be completed in time for this convention. I apologize – life just got in the way.  So, it will be done sometime this summer.

After all this convention excitement is over, and I recuperate, I will then be concentrating on Storm Warning.  🙂 And if fate, karma, and all the gods are good, I will have a nice string of uninterrupted weeks to get the book done!!

11 thoughts on “It’s Convention Time!

Leave a Reply

