Mommy Brags

Okay, maybe this isn’t the best blog for kid stories, but Imma share anyway.

My lovely daughters are all about music. Trombone, French Horn, Piano…they play them all. My eldest can pick up just about any instrument and belt out a tune and sound like she was born playing it. The youngest is picking up on this talent quickly. She just taught herself how to play Joy to the World on the piano. It sounds like Christmas in June at the Mancini house!

They’ve both been in youth chorus for years, which has led them to a fantabulous opportunity… A few weeks ago, I got an email from the director of an event inviting my girls to sing the National Anthem for Relay for Life! Not going to lie, I squealed with excitement and crossed my fingers and toes that they’d want to do it (which of course they did!).

Tonight is the night, and I’m fairly certain I’m going to be that mom who sobs uncontrollably when her kids are in the spotlight. How do I know this? Because I choke up just listening to them practice.

Equally as exciting is that telling people they are doing this has led to other opportunities for the girls to sing the anthem at other events. We’re already booked for later this summer at a stock car race. This is so great, not just because they are doing what they love, but my eldest is building her college application portfolio and this will just add to her list of accomplishments.

So this may not seem like much, but to two little kiddos who feel like music is everything (and their mama), this is HUGE!

As my eldest says, “Mom! They ask people like Taylor Swift to sing the National Anthem. And they want me to do it?”

Yup, baby girl. They want you.

4 thoughts on “Mommy Brags

  1. Aw, that’s wonderful, Em! As a former singer myself, I can only imagine the excitement in your house. Your kiddos will be great, they are obviously talented. Enjoy every moment.

    Like

Leave a Reply

