Eighties Rock! by Christy Gissendaner

As I work on edits for my upcoming rocker romance, set in 1985, I’d be remiss to not touch upon the greatest decade ever! True, I may have been a “young’un”, but the 80’s truly rocked. Let me share a few examples with you good people.

1. The Music

Dear Lord, the music. Karma Chameleon, Like a Prayer, Come On Eileen, and Tainted Love – just to name a few of my favorites – truly made the 1980’s a feast for the ears.

2. The Movies

Hands up if you were a fan of John Hughes’ films. Oh man, was I ever. The Breakfast Club, Pretty in Pink, Sixteen Candles, and St. Elmo’s Fire fueled my imagination…and provided kick ass soundtracks.

3. The Fashion

Yes! Clothing of every color imaginable, layers upon layers, and leather everywhere. What’s not to love?

4. The Hair

Teased bangs. Yep, I was guilty. The bigger, the better. Who remembers the smell of White Rain?

5. Blue/Green/Pink Eyeliner

Thankfully I passed on this craze, but my friends looked like they had eye infections as pre-teens.

Thanks for going down memory lane with me. Be on the lookout for Flashback, a rocker romance coming soon. And as a bonus…want to see what Christy Gissendaner looked like in the 80’s? Okay….so I totally looked normal but who can forget Ronald??

me

Leave a Reply

