Collards Greens…and a Cover Reveal!

Welcome to the updated Love, Lust, and Laptops site! We’ve got exciting news coming and even more exciting ladies joining us. As Emilia mentioned a couple weeks ago, five new ladies came onboard and I can’t wait to see how things get shaken up around here. But on to the true purpose of my time here…blogging.

I, Robin Danner aka Christy Gissendaner, do solemnly swear to not forget my blogging day anymore. Or try not to forget, at least.

Today, I’m going to talk about an item very near and dear to my heart. Collards! Yes, collards. As an Alabama girl, collards were always (always!) my favorite meal and nothing gets me more excited than my grandfather telling me he’s cooked a pot of my favorite leafy, green vegetable.

Did you know collards grow in Bosnia and Montenegro? Yeah, me neither. I Googled and found that collard greens grow in several countries. So much for me thinking collards were just a “southern thang”. We southerners perfected it though, cause without cornbread, collards ain’t nothing but spinach. Sorta…

If you’ve never partaken of collards, you’re missing out. Although they smell like death when they’re cooking…courtesy of their antioxidant nature…boil them with a piece of salt pork and add a dab of pepper sauce (the juice of peppers soaked in vinegar for several weeks) and you’re good to go. Then vinegar helps kill the smell, plus pepper sauce is the greatest invention ever! And I’ve got the acid reflux to prove it.

You’re probably thinking “what the hell is she doing talking about collards”. Well, let me let you in on a little secret. Collards are Elliot Melton’s favorite food too, and Elliot is the hero in my upcoming release, Christmas Spirits. Psst….It’s a holiday novella, just in case the name didn’t give it away.

To celebrate the reveal of my beautiful cover and my love of collards, here’s two prezzies for you today. A collards recipe and the cover! Enjoy!

christmas spirits - 2 mb

Southern Style Collards:

Ingredients

12 hickory-smoked bacon slices or several pieces of salt pork
3 (32-oz.) containers chicken broth
3 (1-lb.) packages fresh collard greens, washed and trimmed
1/3 cup apple cider vinegar
1 tablespoon sugar
1 teaspoon salt
3/4 teaspoon pepper

Preparation

1. Cook bacon in a 10-qt. stockpot over medium heat 10 to 12 minutes or until almost crisp. Stir in broth and remaining ingredients. Cook 2 hours or to desired degree of tenderness.

2. Serve with cornbread and pepper sauce, if desired.

Hint: Fried collards are divine. Take leftover collards, add grease in a frying pan, and “fry” the collards. Heaven in your mouth. I swear.

5 thoughts on “Collards Greens…and a Cover Reveal!

  1. I lived in the south for 11 years, and I confess, I never cared for collard greens… until my (midwestern) husband made them. But he’s an awesome cook, so no surprise there. I’ll have to give him your recipe to try. PS – Seriously Sexy cover!! ~Tami

    Like

Leave a Reply

