Top 5 New Year’s Resolutions from Sara Daniel: If I fail, I win!

SaraDaniel_headshot_9-2012_cropped - smallDid you make any New Year’s Resolutions this year? If so, have you broken them yet, or are you still going strong? Whatever your answer, you’ll get no judgment from me. I promise!

For the past few years, I didn’t make any resolutions. I made big-picture career goals. Last year’s goal was to complete my One Night With the Bridal Party series. Mission accomplished. Check. I still have career goals for this year, including debuting a new small-town erotic romance series: The Bad Boys of Regret Hollow.

But I’ve also realized my life needs more dimensions than just writing, so I have made five resolutions for 2016. To keep myself accountable, I’ll give a mid-year report this summer.

  1. Read more books. I love to read, especially romance, but too many times, I feel like I have to choose between reading and writing, and writing always wins. So, my goal is to unplug from the Internet in that final hour before bed, and instead of checking my email and scrolling through Facebook, I’m going to read.
  1. Watch more movies. I am not a movie person. I tend to confuse characters with the same hair color, and I miss crucial plot details buried in quiet conversations. But big movies are a part of our cultural landscape, and they can both feed my muse and keep me from being three steps behind on water cooler conversation.
  1. Ask for help. So far, I’ve been doing all my publicity myself. I don’t like to rely on other people or admit that I can’t handle something. But I don’t have a marketing background, and I’d prefer to redirect the conversation than talk about myself. That’s not the type of foundation I need to be discovered by readers in an over-saturated book market. So I’m going to start asking for help when I need it.
  1. Take risks. I’m like a turtle. I like safe options. I like the “slow and steady wins the race” mantra. But this year I want to push myself out of my comfort zone, try endeavors that make me a little uncomfortable, and truly reach for success.
  1. Let myself fail. Why don’t I take risks? Because I don’t want to fail. Who does, right? But failing means I tried. I pushed myself to the limits and beyond. If I never failed, then I didn’t take enough risks.

What do you think? Have you made these resolutions before, and were you able to stick to them? What resolutions did you make this year? I’d love to hear about them in the comments.

2 thoughts on “Top 5 New Year’s Resolutions from Sara Daniel: If I fail, I win!

  1. You are a very wise woman! I think those sound like they should be acheiveable without making your life painful. I think each of those makes anyone a better person and isn’t that what we all should be striving for?

    Like

  2. Pingback: Sara Daniel is Doing a Midyear Check on our New Year’s Resolutions. Remember Those? | Love, Lust, and Laptops

Leave a Reply

