Top Ten 80’s Rock Songs by Christy Gissendaner

I love the 80’s. I love everything about it. The big hair. The fashion. But most of all, I adore the music. I was only 12 when the 1990 arrived, but my taste in music definitely stayed in the Decade of Excess. In celebration of my new release, which focuses on a hot but tortured rock star hero, here’s my Top Ten list of Raddest Eighties Rock Songs, in no particular order of favorite, because let’s face it. No one can pick their favorite eighties song.

 

  1. Every Breath You Take by The Police – So it may not be the symbolic “rock” song, but this creepy stalker hit became an anthem of the 80’s.
  2. Tainted Love by Soft Cell – This electronica pop rock song remains one of my favorites, even regaining popularity in a jeans commercial in later decades.
  3. Pour Some Sugar On Me by Def Leppard – Big hair alert. Def Leppard rocked out with this party rock anthem.
  4. Come On Eileen by Dexys Midnight Runners – Ah…one of my favorites of all time. I never knew the actual lyrics until I was over thirty, but I sure sang the heck out of this, misheard lyrics and all.
  5. Don’t You Forget About Me by Simple Minds – Hit song from The Breakfast Club. What more is there to say?
  6. Beat It by Michael Jackson – Self-avowed MJ freak right here.
  7. Welcome To The Jungle by Guns N Roses – Axl says it best. “Welcome to the jungle. We take it day by day. If you want it you’re gonna bleed, but it’s the price to pay. And you’re a very sexy girl that’s very hard to please.” Take that, Fifty Shades.(drops mic and walks away)
  8. In The Air Tonight by Phil Collins – Oh man, do I rock out to this song! I play air drums. Bang my head. Sing at the top of my lungs. Best thing? The husband does it with me. Okay, I lied. I may have an ultimate favorite eighties song after all…
  9. With Or Without You by U2 – What list is complete without Bono?
  10. You Give Love A Bad Name by Bon Jovi – The things I would do to Jon Bon Jovi. I can’t say them here on the basis they may be illegal.

 

So what do ya’ll think? Did some of your favorites make my list? I have tons more, but this sampling covers various rock genres that made my adolescence rock.

And speaking of rock…check out my latest release. Flashback is already available for download at All Romance and Barnes&Noble and on pre-sale at Amazon.

Flashback

It’s 1985 and Percival Vane, the lead singer of Jericho, is the hottest thing in music. He has it all – the fans, the money, and a gig he adores – but underneath the smoke and flashing lights, he’s learned to bury his feelings. Battling lifelong addiction, he covers up the pain by pouring his heart into his music, penning lyrics that defy imagination and leave his fans breathless for more. Until the words stop coming.

Betsy Walker knows the dirty little secrets of life on the road. She was just such a secret, daughter of a popular 1960’s folk singer unwilling to compromise her career by raising a child. Betsy was weaned on glitter and disco, rocked to sleep by the strum of guitars. One thing she knows, she never wants to live the life her father set for her.

The absolute last thing Betsy wants is to fall for the lead singer of Jericho, who’s had more panties thrown at him on stage than most women wear in a lifetime. On summer break from college, she agrees to accompany her father on tour with Jericho and discovers beneath the guyliner and long hair is a songwriter who’s been misunderstood, molded into something he doesn’t want to be.

Can she help him find himself? Or will they both become victims of Percival’s quick rise to the top of the charts?

Leave a Reply

