To Be or Not To Be? by Lynn Lorenz

I retired in 2014. In 2015, I sold my house. Moved to a new house. Have kids in college.
Lots of changes. And most of them ate up my time like the Cookie Monster cut free in the cookie aisle at the HEB.cookiemonster

Gobble.

Some of the time eaters were events wrapped around my writing career. I attended three conventions – one of them overseas. The one here in the US I actually drove to – and that took days – to San Diego. About 2 weeks. The one overseas was in combo with a long awaited wedding anniversary (30yrs) and a trip to the UK. That took about 17 days. Wonderful, glorious days!

Gobble. Gobble.

Getting our house ready for sale in March-May? Took months of contractors, emptying of the house, cleaning, living in hotels. Not conducive to writing the next best seller. See due to my back, I can’t sit in a computer chair, or any chair other than a recliner, for any length of time. Most hotels don’t come with recliners.

Gobble. Gobble. Gobble.turkey

Last summer, with our house on the market, selling, sale falling through, up for sale again, and finally selling, the family was homeless, waiting for an apartment in August. So we took a trip across the western US. Two and a half months of travel, 4 people, in a car. Needless to say, no best sellers were written. Best I could do was keep up with edits for books already under contract.

GobbleGobbleGobbleGobble.

I thought for sure things would slow down for 2016. I’d be writing like crazy, getting things done!

Then in January, I got news one of my publishers, Amber Quill Press, where almost one half of my backlist lived, was going to close. This month, on the 30th, they will shut their doors. I’m upset, but I understand. They haven’t been the only ones to close recently. But that left me with all these books, and trying to find them homes. The longer they are off the market, the less I make. So I’ve had to spend time finding new homes for them.

Gobbbbblllle.

I used to write on two or more stories at a time. Now I’m concentrating on one story, long overdue. My publisher has been awesome, thank God, or I think I’d just give up. Told her, go on without me. Save yourself.

Nowadays, I think of giving up writing more than I’ve ever done. In fact, I never thought about giving up until this year. Not seriously. Sales suck. And it’s going to get worse until the rest of my books get back up on the shelves. Nothing new coming out anytime soon.

I worry no one will even remember me or know me when they do come out again. One writer friend called herself a “has-been.” I get that so hard. Many of my writer friends talk about giving up for a variety of reasons. Take your pick.

And I won’t even mention the many dramas going on in the writing world that bring me down and make me wonder if it’s all worth it. And more and more I’m thinking, maybe it’s not. At least, not in Lynn’s writing world. With Amazon’s policies – about reviews – I’ve lost almost every review on most of my Lynn books – there’s no way to hit the Amazon analytics. I gave away the first book in my In The Company of Men series – over 600 copies. Reviews? None. I know most people grab the books, save them for later, but not one? Fingers crossed, someone buys the next books in the series.

So after thinking about it, I’ve decided to find my Lynn books a home, but not writing anything for her until later in the year, if the new series gets picked up. I have some edits to one of my books – expanding it a bit – I’ll get that done in May. The Common Powers series has a home. Nothing in writing, but I’m pretty sure it’s going to get picked up, but I need to do this expansion first.

For my Theodora Lane readers, I’m going to finish the first book, long overdue, see how it sells, and if it’s good, write the next in the 5 book series, about a group of ex-special forces men who are the last resort for people in trouble.

I’m going to be pitching two books at RT this April – both Theodora books – to an agent. I have no hopes of landing one, but what the hell. Also, at RT, I’m going to pitch a new series – for Lynn – that I’m hoping will renew my desire to write LGBT books again. Because I really need some inspiration and excitement again.

FB_IMG_1456947913360My life has settled a bit, but the college kids are active, and I’m heading to RT in Vegas in April. Then when I get back, I’ll be at the Houston Author Bash book sale and signing. Once April is done, my writing life can get back on track and hopefully, I’ll be cranking out some new books for readers. This summer will be slow. I planned it on purpose so I could get some writing done.

After this year, I’ll seriously decide on where my focus will be in my writing. I hope I’ll be excited about both my pen names, but if I’m not feeling it, and something has to give, well, it will be what it will be. I’m hoping I’ll find a new home for my writing, and my backlist. I’m hoping my new series for Theodora takes off and she finds an agent. I’m hoping I’ll have so much excitement and inspiration for writing, I’ll forget to eat.

Well, we all know that won’t happen, but it could. Seriously. It could.

We’ll see. I’ll keep you in the loop for sure.

Please, go out and like my Lynn Lorenz and Theodora Lane Author Page. https://www.facebook.com/lynnlorenz2theodoralane/
I’m going to do a giveaway when it reaches 100 likes. So like the page, and get a chance on a back list book from either Lynn or Theodora.

And if you’ve ever read any of my books, please leave a review on Amazon.

Thanks!

One thought on “To Be or Not To Be? by Lynn Lorenz

  1. I can’t even tell you how strongly I’m with you on this. Just last night I found myself in my bedroom before bed, writing the nightly passage in my journal, silent tears streaming down my face as I unleashed my worries and sadness over what may be the death of a lifelong dream.

    I’ll always be a writer, and because I chose to chase this dream wholeheartedly, I will always be a writer. But I’m beginning to wonder if the payoff of trying to make a living on it is still worth the sacrifices I’m making in my personal life.

    Like

Leave a Reply

