Got Birthday Ideas? Tami Lund Needs ’em

The husband’s birthday is next month. The big 5-0. Seems pretty significant, right? Like I should plan something big, right? A few months ago, he even hinted that he’d like to go to Vegas for his birthday, because that’s what you do when you turn fifty.

So I looked into Vegas, even though neither of us are gamblers. But there’s lots of other stuff to do there, right? I’ve never been, but he has, and he’s always had a good time. I even went so far as to send out a message to our closest friends, see if anyone wanted to join us.

Then a couple of those friends suggested doing something more … up my husband’s alley. He’s a huge history buff and a beer connoisseur, so I thought about Boston. Aside from spending far more than we can afford to fly to Germany, I can’t think of a better place that combines those two loves. And if we figure out how to get passports so we can drive through Canada to get there, it’s only about a ten-hour drive from Detroit, saving us airfare and a rental car fee while we’re there. Considering we make an annual trip between Detroit and Dallas, ten hours is a walk in the park.

I also toyed with heading to Napa Valley, which is where we spent our honeymoon and our tenth anniversary, and from where we purchase and consume relatively large quantities of wine.

And then earlier today he informed me he didn’t want me to do anything special, aside from dinner at a nice restaurant, for his birthday.

Seriously???

I’m not sure how to take this. I feel like he’ll be disappointed if I *only* do dinner. I mean, it’s FIFTY. That’s significant, isn’t it? I’m not sure why, to be honest, but it feels like it should be. Maybe because he’s halfway to being a centennial? Although I personally don’t think that’s something to celebrate, but then again, I desperately don’t want to get old, so I’m not the person to ask.

Anyway, what should I do? Should I plan something anyway? Adhere to his wishes? Figure out something in between? If so, what the heck is in between?

Got some ideas for me? I’d luuuuuv to hear them. Seriously. I need *something*. I have about seven weeks to figure this out…

Tami Lund Headshot 2014

Tami Lund is an author, wine drinker, lover of happily ever afters and her husband. And she really wants to do something special for his birthday, but she’s never been very good at getting this whole gift giving thing right…

2 thoughts on “Got Birthday Ideas? Tami Lund Needs ’em

  1. Do the Boston trip! It’s something he’s not expecting because you thought it through on your own. In the future get the other drivers license that allows you to travel in Canada, Bahamas, etc.. that’s what we do!

    Like

  2. Tami – on other birthday milestones has he said the same? How did those work out? Most guys, myself included, don’t see the big deal about various milestones of birthday or anniversaries. I’ve learned however the wife does. So for the anniversaries/her birthday I have learned to make an effort.
    Ultimately it comes down to does he really mean not to do anything.
    Anyway that my two cents. Donald

    Like

Leave a Reply

