Are We There Yet?

When I decided to make writing books my new career, I researched the industry at great lengths before deciding on romantic suspense. At that time, most authors who had seven books published were making enough money to quit their day job.

Not the case today.

Current books as of 23 MarchOn March 16th, I published book number ten, but I don’t feel like I have made it yet. It seems as though every year that magical number needed for success slides a little further away.

Several recent Facebook posts from authors have indicated their desire to quit and return to a paid position with benefits. After checking, most of those authors have published under five books. As with any career, being an author may not be the right career for them.

I believe it is the right career for me.

In a professional writing workshop, the instructor told us that successful authors have one thing in common…Perseverance. I can’t tell you how many times I have been told horror stories by highly successful authors who have stacks of rejection letters. Yet, they believed in their talent and the stories they had to tell. They persisted until the right match was made. The melding of author, story, editor, and publisher made them a success.

Another Facebook complaint I’ve seen made by authors has been the decrease in profits. Currently there are nearly 3.3 million fiction books available. Of those, 825,000 are in the romance genre. That’s a lot of competition especially when you add 20,000 new titles every month. Those numbers can be disenchanting and downright frightening. 

As many authors completed their taxes last week, I believe the reality of time, effort, and diminishing returns has made them question whether writing the next novel is a wise use of their time.

For me, the increase in sales over the previous year was incentive. My business plan for 2017 includes at least one more novella and two more full-length novels. I’ll be writing nonstop…forever.

If you’d like to see the cover reveals first, hear about my work in progress, and be notified when I have special sales and upcoming releases, please join my newsletter now. I have a secret surprise for all newsletter recipients in May.

Leave a Reply

