Geek love is the sweetest love.

It’s official. I’ve fallen in love again. Well, a few times.

Hubs and I have been plowing our way through a couple of TV series lately and I have discovered a couple of new all-time favorite shows. I can’t get enough of Last Week Tonight with John Oliver and Silicon Valley. And it strikes me that although these are two very different programs, there is one huge similarity.

The main characters are total geeks.

Now I mean this with love and respect, having been one for my entire life. These shows feature men who are incredibly intelligent and so funny I pee myself more with every joke (not a good image, I admit, but you know what I mean.)

p10555214_b_v7_ab

John Oliver keeps me in stitches. His tirades on politicians, corruption and the lunacy of the world are always on point and well-researched. You can tell this man not only does his homework, but feels passion for the subjects he presents. John Oliver can skewer a celebrity or corporation like no one can, but he does so with English humour and a healthy dose of irreverence. If I’d known him in high school, I would have begged him to be my best friend. We would have huddled in the corners at school dances and giggled at the popular kids.

siliconvalley04

And then there’s Silicon Valley. I laugh just thinking about it. The show is about a group of young IT geeks who are doing their very best to start their own computer company, and usually failing dismally because of their character flaws. These are guys with whom I could have gone to school. Smart as whips, they know everything there is to know about technology. As a result, the show is intelligent, never talking down to the audience. But they make mistakes, often huge ones, resulting in major laughs. Oh, and I have a big crush on actor T.J. Miller, who plays Erlich (the big, hairy blond guy on the right). His every line is delivered with deadly precision and the most incredible comedic timing.

So what am I really trying to say in this blog? Just this: gorgeous guys with hard abs and killer looks may be okay. But at the end of the day, if a man can’t make me think and laugh, he’ll get nowhere. Geek love is always the sweetest love.

6 thoughts on “Geek love is the sweetest love.

  1. You are very right Rosanna! You can drool over a hot body but IF he opens his mouth and nothing appealing comes out the attraction fizzles…. Having someone to talk and laugh with is really the most important to make it last.

    Like

Leave a comment